Some of the same sewing. . .

My sewing machine recently kicked the bucket beyond repair. Stinks, right? I just got her in February and she did some good sewing but she was a refurbished machine. I think I’ve learned that you should not buy a refurb. Thankfully the machine is still under warranty and we’ll be contacting the seller to get all of this straightened out.

Before she died, I did a little sewing, some of which is already in the shop, and some were presents. The first bit of present sewing was a nursing cover and sling for a friend at church. The fabric is Recipe for Friendship designed for Moda by Mary Englebreit. Here is the nursing cover:

Sadly, the photo of the sling disappeared in transfer between the camera and the computer, but it was the same fabric and you’ll just have to take my word that it was very cute. 🙂

In making those items, I decided I would indeed make ‘new mama sets’ for the shop. I have three ‘new mama sets’ cut out and ready to sew up and add to the shop (hopefully very soon). The sets will consist of a nursing cover, sling, two burp rags and a bib – all in the same fabric. What do you guys think that I should call the set? Is ‘New Mama Set’ a good name? ‘New Baby/Mama Set’? I’m kinda drawing a blank on naming this.

And the one and only gift that was sewn this Christmas was a Diana Hobo that I sewed for my sister-in-law. I modified my free pattern just a little bit by top stitching the bottom to create more of a flat base instead of a rounded one. I really like this simple modification.

I have one bag in each style in the shop right now – with the bottom rounded and the bottom squared off by top stitching. I’m not sure which I like more so I’ll do both for now!

5 Comments

  1. Shelly
    Posted December 29, 2009 at 12:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    New Mama Survival Kit? Baby Basics Set? “We’re Having a Baby” Set? Who knows, but it’s a great idea!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 29, 2009 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I like ‘New Mama Survival Kit’ a lot. . . I think that’s what I’ll probably call it! Thanks!

      • Shelly
        Posted December 29, 2009 at 11:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Yay! It’s almost like beIng famous! 🙂

  2. Posted December 29, 2009 at 10:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love the fabric for the nursing cover! I also love the fabric for my bag! Thanks again, I have already used it a lot! And by the way, I had sooo much fun with you while ya’ll were in town! 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 31, 2009 at 10:02 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’m so glad that you like the purse! I knew you would appreciate something hand-sewn and that fabric is so cute, I could see you using it!

      We really enjoyed getting to spend time with y’all – thank you so much for everything! We will have to double date night in again next time we’re in town (or you’re in town).

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

