No-Knead Pecan Caramel Sticky Buns

Our church recently rallied together to cook a hot, holiday breakfast for the homeless. Since I couldn’t be out there in the cold with the babe, I decided I would make a bunch of hot, sticky buns for those that were going to take with them. I’m pretty fascinated with no-knead bread doughs and I saw this recipe awhile back and knew I wanted to try it. It makes quite a bit of dough, so it seemed silly to make for just me and Jason, but it wasn’t silly to use to feed as many homeless people as we could.

I made two batches of the no-knead dough and let them rise in the fridge for several days. Talk about easy – all you do is mix all of the ingredients together, cover and refrigerate. Then whenever you’re ready for it, you pull of a pinch of the dough to bake off. Pretty awesome! I rolled out and cut the sticky buns and placed them in the aluminum trays then stuck them in the freezer so I could bake them off as close to the actual feeding time as possible. I mean, I wanted them to be super fresh. I took them out of the freezer after Jude’s 6am feeding and let them thaw before sticking them in the oven. The two batches made approximately 120 sticky buns and they were dang good (I snuck a bite to make sure they were tasty)!

You just flip them over to show their caramel goodness when you take them out of the oven. Delicious and very sticky! I’m pretty sure I will be returning to this recipe if I have to do a brunch anytime in the near future. Super easy as long as you allow for a couple of days of rising in the fridge.

Recipe for No Knead Pecan Caramel Sticky Buns

6 Comments

  1. Posted December 30, 2009 at 10:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, those look so yummy! I will have to try these once I get some time to make the dough.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 31, 2009 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

      You should! The dough certainly don’t take much time to make at all.

  2. Posted December 30, 2009 at 11:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    These look SO good. I can just see myself devouring several in one sitting with one large glass of ice cold milk. Probably not the smartest thing…but who can resist that sticky gooeyness?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 31, 2009 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yummm. I need to make some more and maybe freeze the pans we aren’t eating so that we can fully enjoy them WITH a glass of milk!

  3. Posted December 30, 2009 at 1:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These look amazing!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 31, 2009 at 9:59 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’m sure that these are pretty similar to the ones you made the other week. Gotta love the simplicity of no-knead bread!

One Trackback

  1. […] day.  Since there are 30 of us, we decided to do breakfast and lunch.  I had seen both Ellie and Beth make these sticky buns and post about them on their blogs and I thought they sounded wonderful!  I […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

