More Changes for the New Decade

I realize that I try to start every post with the word ‘so’. Bad habit. Trying to break it. I’m starting with this post. That means I started this post with ‘so’ and went back and deleted it. Hm. Change number one.

I’m realizing how appropriate it is to post this post on New Years Eve since it’s an evening filled with the anticipation and celebration of what is to come. The start of a whole new year, and even more-so for this year, a whole new decade. Our lives are on the brink of some large changes once more. It seems that having a baby, moving and my becoming a SAHM isn’t enough change in our lives. To add to the major life change mix, Jason recently quit his job. Recently as in the Wednesday before Christmas. We both knew this was coming for a variety of reasons and were both on board with the decision, but it still was a nerve-racking and difficult decision nonetheless. We are still processing through what this will mean for us as a family and for Jason as the main provider for our family. It is a tough process and we are learning a lot about ourselves and our marriage in the process. It really is challenging us to examine our hearts and to prayerfully and thoughtfully look at our finances. It is good for us to have some strain placed on us in this area as we really haven’t experienced it much previously. It is good to be challenged again to live with less, this time it’s income. We’re not too worried about him being unemployed for too long as he already has two offers available to him. We’re just praying through what the best option is and what honors God the most.

Through this challenging time, I decided to look back on last year’s resolutions. I realize that I succeeded in pretty much all of them. Not a bad feeling. I mean, the praying and spirituality part of the resolution is an ongoing process for the rest of my life, so I can’t really say that it’s been completed, but I do feel that I have grown over the course of 2009. There is still a lot of growing to be had. I will say that this year’s list is a little more ambitious!

  • Make a full size quilt for our family.
  • Continue learning more about removing chemicals from our lives.
  • Sew a garment.
  • Fully enjoy the time I have with Jude.
  • Build up the inventory in the etsy shop.
  • Learn to live with even less and become more open-handed.
  • Create a few more free patterns/tutorials (the Krista apron being one of them).
  • Start a square foot garden in our backyard.
  • Tap in to art again. I miss sketching, painting and linoleum printing. (Maybe add some prints to the etsy shop?)
  • Learn how to jar foods.
  • Begin consistently prayer journaling.
  • Visit the farmer’s market more frequently.
  • Become more active – maybe yoga, jogging, bicycling?
  • Make it a priority to spend time outside everyday.
  • Continue to cook healthy meals and make even more things from scratch. (Maybe learn how to make yogurt or cheese this year?)
  • Cook meals in advance (and in season) and freeze them so I spend less time in the kitchen each night and more time with family. I think this is as simple as doubling things that I make that I know we like.
  • Become better at clipping coupons/saving money (focusing on purchasing items that we actually use).
  • Focus on having quality date nights with Jason (even if that’s at home).

What are your resolutions this year (and you can’t just say exercising – we all say that every year!)?

16 Comments

  1. urbandaddy
    Posted December 31, 2009 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    So your list looks great.

    🙂

    Good luck on the changes. You’ve given me some good suggestions for my family for the new year.

    Happy 2010.

  2. Shelly
    Posted December 31, 2009 at 11:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    You’ve got some great resolutions! My husband jay recently got into cheesemaking. We’ve discovered that if you want more than yogurt or some basic soft cheeses, it requires a bit of materials and an initial cost investment. Making yogurt, though, is quite easy and pretty cheap. I also did a little bit of canning this year – just pears, but it was easier than I’d thought.

    There are a lot of money saving blogs out there that post sales and coupon matchups at drug an grocery stores each week. I’m sure you could find someone who posts for Austin. I don’t get the Sunday paper, but with all the printable coupons and sales, I have stockpiled all sorts of toiletries that I’ve gotten for free.

    Oh, and I’ve really enjoyed the cookbook Six O’Clock Scramble. It’s broken down by seasons, and is meant to be simple (10 ingredients or less, I think), fast, family-friendly recipes. It’s done well for us this year.

    My goal this year is to better prioritize my time so that I can spend quality time with the baby, get breaks for myself, and keep the house clean – that’s the hardest part for me.

    • Shelly
      Posted December 31, 2009 at 11:22 am | Permalink | Reply

      Sorry for the random typos. I find that I sometimes miss letters and/or the iPod makes erroneous corrections. If I don’t catch them before I post, sometimes I don’t seem to make much sense…

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 1, 2010 at 6:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, I need to figure out which blogs post about coupons for products I already use. . . I’m kinda picky because I want to be thoughtful about what companies I’m supporting with my money. That leaves a really limiting amount of coupons available to use.

      I’ll check out the Six O’Clock Scramble – it sounds perfect for what we are looking for.

  3. Posted December 31, 2009 at 2:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow – I thought we had a lot of changes over the year, but you certainly take the cake! Praying that God will grant you peace as you make yet another transition in your lives.

    You know, Lance and I were going to talk about some of our goals tonight. Some general ones: complete our kitchen/living space makeover, which means saving like crazy people, have a small garden this year, too (and hope it survives), maintain a simplified life – not necessarily in material possessions, but a simplified life – we’re still figuring out what that means specifically, but we have some ideas. Love Jesus more deeply by spending quality time with Him, and talking about/to Him. Run more. Continue to work on our budget.

    Happy New Year, Elizabeth!!!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 1, 2010 at 6:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’m with you on the simplified life, materials and everything else. And Amen to loving Jesus more deeply. My love is so easily divided when it should be pouring out to him primarily.

  4. Posted January 1, 2010 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So you shouldn’t start a post with so?

    Just teasing! Happy new year.

  5. Rosie
    Posted January 1, 2010 at 6:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    There is a place here in Oz that sell cheese making kits including for 30 minute ricotta. This is an item on my wish list I can’t wait to get. I am assuming there must be such things in the US as you has access to much better supplies for everything it seems then what we have here.

    Here is a link http://greenlivingaustralia.com.au/cheesemaking_kits.html

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 1, 2010 at 6:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Homemade ricotta is the BEST! And it’s super easy to make. I’ve made it several times. Heidi Swanson at 101 Cookbooks has a great recipe for it and I don’t think it requires anything too special, just cheese cloth, milk, buttermilk and a thermometer. Check it out: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/000282.html

      • Rosie
        Posted January 1, 2010 at 10:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks for the link, I can’t wait to give it a go.

        • Elizabeth
          Posted January 1, 2010 at 10:33 pm | Permalink

          I would like to get a cheese making kit, like the one you linked too . . . I think I’m going to start with yogurt first. I know I would love to be able to make homemade mozzarella. Yuuum.

  6. Posted January 1, 2010 at 7:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beth,
    Your resolutions really made me think about what I want to do differently this year. I always say lose weight, work out more, read my Bible everyday, but this year I am going to change them up a little.

    I want to: 1) Gain a better understanding of who God is as I read through the Bible daily. 2) Understand more about Sustainable Living, and begin shopping for what is in season and at Farmer’s Markets, using products that are good for the enviroment, supporting local businesses, and support businesses that are helping us not hurting us. 3) Love my students the way God loves me. 4) Get to know my neighbors. 5) Love the kiddos that God brings into our home through adoption.

    I think that is all! Thanks for getting me to think about it. Happy New Year!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 1, 2010 at 10:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Those are awesome resolutions – the neighbors one should be on my list too. We are slowly but surely getting there on that one, but it takes so much effort! And that is so exciting to hear that you guys are considering adoption!

  7. Aubrey
    Posted January 4, 2010 at 10:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    My sister can help you learn how to can! My mom does it every year with her okra & cucumbers…and now tomatoes because she had such a plethora this year! My mom taught my sister and now Amber is great at it! 🙂

    Great list :)…one of mine is to get a gym membership and get back into shape! Yayyy

  8. Posted January 5, 2010 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey,

    It’s Meredith. I noticed you wrote more money saving/coupon clipping in your new years resolution.

    I use shortcuts.com. It is awesome for coupons.

    Mere

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 6, 2010 at 10:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve been checking out coupons.com and it has some pretty good ones on it. I just took at look at shortcuts.com and it looks great but HEB isn’t a participating store – so sad!

One Trackback

  1. By coupon-ing journey « think liz. on March 11, 2010 at 8:02 am

    […] You may remember me saying that one of my resolutions for the new year was to coupon more, focusing on how to save […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

