Butterscotch Sauce

I swear to you, Deb from Smitten Kitchen and I have the same taste buds. She posts things on her blog and I MUST make them. Preferably the same day. She and I have a taste for salted caramel. I love salt. And sweets. So salted caramel is perfect. Turns out that butterscotch is salted caramel that isn’t cooked as long as the candy type of caramel. It is super easy.

It is delicious. I can imagine it being drizzled over so many different things besides just ice cream, but vanilla ice cream is perfect to showcase the delicious butterscotch flavor. Bread pudding? Angel food cake? Brownies? The options are endless.

Really, how do you go wrong with butter, cream, sugars, vanilla and salt? The answer is, you don’t! Well, actually, I added a pinch too much salt, but, um, I kinda liked it that way. My salty batch aside, this is so easy! If you like butterscotch, you must try this! Maybe make some vanilla bean ice cream, hot chocolate fudge, marshmallows and crumble some toffee over top for a sundae party? Sounds good to me!

Recipe for Easy Butterscotch Sauce

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 4, 2010 at 12:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mmmm, that looks good. Is it too early in the morning to want ice cream? 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 4, 2010 at 12:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Pretty sure it’s never too early for ice cream. 🙂

  2. Posted January 5, 2010 at 12:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    That. makes. me. HUNGRY! Wow – that looks good. I’ll have to try this recipe – I love caramel.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

