Spicy Caramel Popcorn

The next several recipes that I have to share are all from our New Years spread. You can see world peace cookies, French bread, Gorgonzola honey toast points (which are simply slices of toasted bread with melted Gorgonzola and honey drizzled on top), and then two other items that I didn’t feel were good enough to share with you guys. I was a little disappointed in them (… we ate them anyways …). But the salted brown butter crispy treats and feta salsa more than made up for the two disappointing recipes and will be shared on another day.

We decided to take it easy and stay home for New Years only because we had been running around Dallas for over a week straight and we were tired. Staying in, drinking champagne and stuffing ourselves silly at home sounded nice. And of course that meant I finally got to spend some time in my own kitchen cooking to my heart’s content.

Deb did it again: she posted this recipe for spicy caramel popcorn and I already had all of the ingredients on hand to make it. I’ve never made caramel corn before so I thought I’d give it a go. I’m intrigued with uncommon flavor combos like salty sweet, sweet spicy, or in this case, salty sweet spicy.

Let me start out by saying that it is a lot of fun to pop popcorn on the stove in a lidded pot. I’d never done it before (only in a brown paper bag in the microwave and of course the prepackaged weird buttery stuff that we all grew up on). I will definitely be doing it again. I mean, really, I’ll be making this whole recipe again. I love how quickly it comes together and how impressive it seems. I’m finding that I really enjoy making caramels and this one is no different, although it’s fun to add the baking soda mixture to the caramel at the end because it bubbles up like a science experiment. Yes. I was the child that used to steal my mom’s baking soda to mix with vinegar so I could watch it bubble and make a mess all over the kitchen.

OK. Anyways. This is a great recipe. The outcome is really impressive and a perfect gift item. The unexpected spice comes at the end of the bite and is lovely (I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne). Make some! Pass it out to your neighbors!

Recipe for Spicy Caramel Popcorn

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 5, 2010 at 10:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love caramel corn! I might have to try this one!

  2. Posted January 5, 2010 at 11:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yum!!! That looks like a wonderful new years menu and I’ve been wondering what to do with half a box of rice crispies. Thanks for your food inspiration..it is awesome per usual.

  3. Posted January 5, 2010 at 7:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t believe you’ve never popped popcorn on the stove before. I’ve been doing it since high school and it is my favorite way to eat popcorn. This sounds really good too. Like something you would buy at Harry & David’s or something.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

