Salted Brown Butter Crispy Treats

I’m not sure that I can allow myself to make these again. I think I ate 2/3rds of the pan by myself. They were really that addicting and delicious. These salted brown butter crispy treats played to my weakness – adding a little extra salt to the sweet. My Achilles heel. It’s why I keep coming back to the world peace cookies. . . Well. And the butter. It’s browned – another weakness of mine. Are you starting to sense I have a lot of weaknesses when it comes to food? Yeah. Me too.

I also don’t know that I have ever really made the original rice crispy treats before. Ridiculous, right? I always preferred making things all the way from scratch, even as a kid. What 10 year old makes cakes from scratch? Me. Even for bake sales. Well, these things are dang delicious. I mean really. The butter is melted in a pan until all the milk solids are browned and takes on this delicious nutty characteristic and then that sea salt. Ooooo. So freaking amazing. These play more towards the adult palette with the salt and browned butter but I’m sure no kiddo would refuse them. They are exponentially better than what you get in a box.

So the next step on these? I almost want to try making these using homemade marshmallows. Is that too much?

Recipe for Salted Brown Butter Crispy Treats

13 Comments

  1. deezahoney
    Posted January 6, 2010 at 2:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, I’ve been meaning to make those since I read Smitten Kitchen’s post on them. The look delicious!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 6, 2010 at 8:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

      They are worth making. So stinking delicious!

  2. Posted January 6, 2010 at 3:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Rice Krispie treats were my favorite thing to make when I was a kid — I felt so grown up making them. 🙂 And as an adult, I don’t think I get to eat them nearly enough!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 6, 2010 at 8:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Well here’s a good reason to make them – an adult version of the kid classic. Yum. If you don’t make them before you have your little one, I’ll make them and bring them to you. 🙂 Sound like a deal?

      • Posted January 7, 2010 at 1:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Deal.

        • Elizabeth
          Posted January 7, 2010 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

          I can’t promise you I won’t eat a few before they make it to your house…

  3. Posted January 6, 2010 at 6:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG…so i am nominating you for a lemonade stand award!

    The Lemonade Stand Award is awarded for being a blogger who shows great attitude and gratitude.

    here are the details! Thanks for inspiring me and so many others!

    http://theadventuresofroryandjess.blogspot.com/2010/01/lemonade.html

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 6, 2010 at 8:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you so much! I’m flattered!

  4. Posted January 6, 2010 at 7:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh yum! Those look fabulous!

  5. Posted January 6, 2010 at 7:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds awesome! I love making stuff from scratch too! I always have! It’s always better that way.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 6, 2010 at 8:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You are so right. Scratch is always better. Where did we get that word? Why does ‘scratch’ mean what it means?

  6. Posted January 7, 2010 at 10:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am so proud of you for tackling so many of Deb’s recipes from Smitten Kitchen! Everything looks DELICIOUS and I think maybe, just maybe I will have to invite myself over with Aubrey sometime, haha. I’m with you on the homemade marshmallows…although just last night my fiance asked if I could please, pretty please, think about making less involved food choices. 🙂 We’ll see about that. Happy cooking!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 7, 2010 at 12:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I love Deb! I really could make everything she posts. I don’t think I’ve made a bad recipe from her site! And you are more than welcome to come over sometime with Aubrey – I love spending time with foodies! And what’s the fun of making food choices if they’re not involved. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

