Word for the year.

My good friend, Amanda, has done the word of the year for two years running. Last year, I said that I would think about it, and this year I would actually like to participate. Really what it boils down to is choosing a word for the year that you want to live by. When I read her post for 2010, a word instantly popped into my mind and that word is ‘trust‘. Dictionary.com defines trust as:

1. reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety, etc., of a person or thing; confidence.
2. confident expectation of something; hope.
3. confidence in the certainty of future payment for property or goods received; credit: to sell merchandise on trust.
4. a person on whom or thing on which one relies: God is my trust.
5. the condition of one to whom something has been entrusted.
6. the obligation or responsibility imposed on a person in whom confidence or authority is placed: a position of trust.
7. charge, custody, or care: to leave valuables in someone’s trust.
8. something committed or entrusted to one’s care for use or safekeeping, as an office, duty, or the like; responsibility; charge.

My initial thought is that I want to grow in my ability to trust God and who He is but when I read that definition, I see the implications in other areas of my life too. Especially in terms of Jude but also in areas of my family, friends, husband, our material provision . . . Will you consider maybe doing a word of the year too? I’m excited to see how this word will continue to surface in all areas of my life as the year progresses.

In addition to meditating on this word throughout the year, I am copying Amanda’s great idea of creating a quilt block with the word embroidered on it. It’s cool to think that over the years, I’ll have eventually have a quilt full of meaning. Here is this year’s quilt block – it’s an Empire Star. The fabrics are from Heather Bailey’s new Nicey Jane collection. If you know me, you know I’m not a precision sewer. I mean, you pin things before you sew them? Not me! Well, turns out that this first foray into more complicated quilt block making requires some precision, so this block is try number 2 (I still didn’t pin anything though, shhh). The first one wasn’t awful, just didn’t quite meet my expectations so it will get turned into a tote bag or something. 🙂

Word of the Year Quilt Block

8 Comments

  1. Posted January 11, 2010 at 3:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love your block — and your word!! And I am looking forward to hearing all the wonderful growth stories over the course of the year as you learn to trust in all aspects of life more. Praying for you, friend!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 11, 2010 at 10:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you. There have already been some things that have happened that are making me with I had picked a less challenging word. Haha!

      Praying for you too as you enter your year of rest. 🙂

  2. Posted January 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s awesome. I think “trust” has been my word of the past 6 months or so without purposefully picking it. 🙂

  3. Posted January 11, 2010 at 4:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Good word! And the block is way cute. I haven’t seen an Empire Star before, but I love it!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 11, 2010 at 10:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Jenn. I’m looking forward to searching out more fun blocks each year. Hopefully I’ll see a sewing skill improvement each year as well as a spiritual improvement!

  4. Posted January 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Way to go! I love your block!

  5. Posted January 11, 2010 at 9:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Neat idea! I think my word will be faith, the opposite of fear, which I always have way too much of and it so holds me back in everything I do. I must say that my husband turned me onto this. He is reading Michael J. Fox’s book and read me a passage on Sunday afternoon: “The opposite of fear is faith” is an adage I heard often when I quit drinking. The thinking that fear is paralyzing or even regressive, causing you to retreat in defense, while faith inspires forward progress. That has really stuck with me the last day…and I really like it. It makes sense…make progress; do not retreat.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 11, 2010 at 10:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Oh I love that. Faith is the opposite of fear. How absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By CH:H My Listings « think liz. on January 16, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    […] this post where I mentioned that I had made another empire star quilt block? Well, here that one is in tote […]

  2. By trust: reflecting « think liz. on March 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

    […] Why did I pick such a difficult word of the year? Goodness! I’ve been reflecting the last couple of days on how much the word […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

