Homemade Chocolate Syrup

I have mentioned several times about trying to reduce the amount of artificial or processed foods in our diets, and that includes high fructose corn syrup (HFCS). HFCS seems like it’s in virtually everything and when we moved, I took that opportunity to toss everything that had lurked in our fridge door that had HFCS in it. Clean slate at the new house, right? Well, occasionally I get the urge for some chocolate milk. It’s a good way to get a fix on that sweet tooth. But alas, no Hersey’s syrup because of the HFCS. I know I could buy the expensive organic syrup, but I really don’t use it frequently enough to merit spending that much money on a bottle that’s just going to sit. The other night it occurred to me, I bet chocolate syrup is easy to make. I mean, at one point, chocolate syrup was homemade, it wasn’t always mass-produced. Oh the simple revelations.

I proceeded to do a quick search for recipes. It is easier than I imagined. Sugar. Water. Cocoa powder. Pinch of salt. Vanilla extract. I made it and it tastes so much better than Hershey’s syrup. So. Much. Better. I have put it in everything. On oatmeal. Ice Cream. In milk. Coffee. Eating it by the spoonful. Drizzle it on waffles. Made homemade Bailey’s with it (you read that right – more on that later). I kinda forgot how much I like chocolate syrup!

Next, I need to tackle ketchup. I’ve talked about it before. I’ve even had recipes recommended to me. I haven’t ever followed through. Soon.

Until then, make some of this. You won’t regret it!

Recipe for Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

12 Comments

  1. Posted January 12, 2010 at 10:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    That’s fun. We always made chocolate milk with cocoa or with Ovaltine…for some reason we never used the syrup!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You know, I’ve never had Ovaltine before, we always used Nes-Quick!

  2. Posted January 12, 2010 at 11:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    Have you ever read Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser? I haven’t finished yet but the chapter I’m on now talks all about what “natural flavors” and “artificial flavors” on an ingredient list means (there’s not much difference, actually). It’s pretty interesting. And definitely makes me not want to eat processed food. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 12, 2010 at 1:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I haven’t read the book, but I’ve seen the movie. I think In Defense of food sounds pretty similar from what I’ve heard. I should read Fast Food Nation though, although I imagine it would just reinforce how I already feel about food!

      • Posted January 19, 2010 at 2:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Yeah, it would probably just reinforce. I like how it reveals working conditions for employees, especially meatpackers, who make so much food quickly and readily available. It makes me want to be a self-sufficient farmer. Too bad that’s not practical for me. 🙂

        • Elizabeth
          Posted January 19, 2010 at 3:18 pm | Permalink

          Sounds a lot like the movie Food Inc. It went into the working conditions of meatpackers. . . and immigration raids and the like. Sad stuff. I’ll just buy meat locally when I can!

  3. Posted January 12, 2010 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I look forward to hearing about how making your Homemade Ketchup goes, because that is something I’d totally be interested in. I absolutely LOVE ketchup. I put it practically on EVERYTHING. So many people can attest to this.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 12, 2010 at 1:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I most certainly am going to have to try out some recipes! Especially once I get some tomatoes going in the garden!

  4. deezahoney
    Posted January 12, 2010 at 1:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ok, so this recipe looks ridiculously easy! K adores chocolate milk – I can’t wait to try this out on him. Thanks, Beth!

  5. angelina
    Posted January 12, 2010 at 7:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hi liz. we were surprised last time visiting the states, in georgia, EVERYTHING had corn syrup in it. anyway, good on you!
    here in australia, everyone makes their own ‘ketchup’ (they call it tomato sauce). its basic, fresh tomatoes onions salt pepper garlic cooked forever then put thru a sieve (some people add ezy sauce) voila!

  6. Monica
    Posted January 13, 2010 at 4:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So funny you just posted that. I made some 2 nights ago for the vanilla ice cream lurking in the freezer. I used the hot cocoa recipe on the cocoa container but stopped before adding the milk. And, like you, it never before occurred to me to do this. Delicious and simple.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Homemade Bailey’s Irish Cream « think liz. on January 21, 2010 at 8:04 am

    […] Irish Cream I know you’re still thinking about this when I mentioned it in the homemade chocolate syrup post. I mean. Everyone loves Bailey’s, right? It’s so delicious, so creamy and rich. […]

  2. By Mmmmm. . . Chocolate. . . « Musings on May 28, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    […] 28, 2010 by deezahoney A few months ago, Beth of think liz posted a recipe for homemade chocolate syrup.  She made it because she’s phasing out high fructose corn syrup from her family’s […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

