The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell was a book club book back in June of 2009. As you may remember, I was a little busy that month so I didn’t quite get around to reading the book the first time around. I recently finished it up and I think it’s pretty similar in style to Freakanomics but instead of exploring hidden connections, it explores the hidden side of epidemics.

It was a fascinating read, exposing many different sides of trends that I hadn’t really thought about previously. I was especially interested with Gladwell’s discussions of stickiness of trends (like Sesame Street, Blue’s Clues or fashions) and his descriptive breakdown of the people that help to spread epidemics. Connectors, mavens and salesmen. Mavens were particularly intriguing to me because they are the information gathers that help to better educate others to make the best decisions. Sometimes I feel like a maven because I love to research and compare information about anything, hotels, sewing, prices. . . etc. All in all, a worthy read if you’re interested in epidemics and trends. 7/10

2 Comments

  1. roadknowledge
    Posted January 13, 2010 at 4:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I read Outliers a couple of months ago. Malcolm Gladwell is a phenomenal researchist. Tipping Point is on my list.
    Thanks for your review.
    Mike L
    htttp://roadknowledge.wordpress.com

  2. Posted January 13, 2010 at 6:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I read this book, too. I really enjoyed it. It is so NOT my usual, so it was nice to immerse myself in something totally different. After I read this, I read Why We Buy by Paco Underhill. I’ve never read Freakonomics, but I think I might! Oh, and I think I’m a maven, too.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

