crisp salted oatmeal chocolate cookies

I have a soft spot in my heart for the oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. It’s like a cookie that is trying to be healthy, but just can’t quite make it. Story of my life! In reality, I really enjoy the texture that the oats give to the cookie. I’ve tried a couple different recipes, trying to get a good cookie but they always turn out kinda funky. A little too thin, too greasy . . . etc.

Well, of course I turn to Deb from Smitten Kitchen. I found her recipes for Crisp Salted Oatmeal Chocolate cookies, and I wanted to make them. She had me hooked at salted. Salt. My weakness. One of many.

The original cookies had white chocolate chunks in them, and I’m not a big fan of white chocolate (as it’s not chocolate at all, just cocoa butter) but she adamantly said that white chocolate was the way to go with these. I thought I bought white chocolate. I really did. The wrapper of the chocolate bar I bought was white while the dark chocolate bar of the same brand was dark! But it was semi-sweet chocolate. So, instead of getting white chocolate, I just used what I had. And I’m happy I did. I mean, I’d still like to try them with white chocolate,  but this batch was not disappointing at all! They are thin, but not too thin. There’s a bit of chewiness but a good amount of crunch around the edges. I think she described them as ‘shattery’ which is definitely a good descriptor. A worthy cookie.

Recipe for Crisp Salted Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

Salted Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 14, 2010 at 10:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Chocolate chip oatmeal is on of my faves too!

  2. Posted January 14, 2010 at 3:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I could go for about 10 of these right now.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

