Spinach and Cheese Strata

I love breakfasts that you can prepare the night before and just pop in the oven. So little effort for such a great payout. This was another Deb classic (I mean, seriously, why do you even read my blog since I only seem to post recipes from Smitten Kitchen) and it lived up to the hype. Once more. Again. Yep. I love that you make it the night before and just stick it in the oven. I mean, who really wants to be slaving over a hot stove when you could be sitting and relaxing, enjoying company?

This recipe is essentially a savory bread pudding. I added some bacon because, really, bacon makes everything better (I need that on a shirt or something). This one even reheated the next day well. I think the one thing I would do differently is either reduce the recipe, cook for longer at a lower temperature, or use a bigger pan. The first day, the middles was a bit soggy and everyone enjoyed the edges the most. The second day, everything was cooked through more evenly and there were no complaints. Not that I get that many complaints when I feed people. 🙂

So yeah, come on over. You’ll get fed.

Recipe for Spinach and Cheese Strata

Spinach and Cheese Strata

9 Comments

  1. Misty
    Posted January 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would love to try this, but spinach makes me so sick! Do you think it would work with kale?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I think any leafy green would work. I know arugala is often substituted for spinach… I haven’t actually had kale before but if it works with cheese then I think you could use it!

      • Misty
        Posted May 24, 2010 at 4:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Well, it took me a while, but I finally got around to trying this with kale, and it worked wonderfully! I’m linking your post in my blog post about it … will be up Wednesday morning!

        • Elizabeth
          Posted May 24, 2010 at 4:03 pm | Permalink

          Awesome! Can’t wait to read about it!

  2. cooperella
    Posted January 15, 2010 at 9:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am so hungry right now and this post is not helping!!! That looks absolutely delish. I’m definitely giving it a try sometime, and quite possibly for dinner. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 16, 2010 at 12:16 am | Permalink | Reply

      Let me know what you think of it!

  3. Posted January 16, 2010 at 10:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    As you know, I had this on the 2nd day and I thought it was FANTASTIC!

  4. Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Every time you post a new recipe, it reminds me of how much I am missing cooking…unfortunately, I just don’t have the energy at this point. Maybe in a couple of weeks? 😉

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

      In a couple weeks you can enjoy eating everyone’s food that is being cooked for you! And sit and enjoy your little girl! There’s no rush to get back in the kitchen when others are cooking for you! And I’ll take special requests for anything you want! 🙂

3 Trackbacks

  1. By breakfast apple granola crisp « think liz. on February 2, 2010 at 8:03 am

    […] and toast and explore other breakfast offerings! That’s where the scones came about, the strata, and now this […]

  2. By Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding « think liz. on March 30, 2010 at 8:02 am

    […] made a whole lot of bread pudding in my day, but I know it’s basically a sweet version of the breakfast strata that I made awhile back. I also know that this bread pudding was dang amazing (although probably […]

  3. […] | by Misty I saw this recipe for a spinach and cheese strata on Smitten Kitchen and then on ThinkLiz, and I knew I wanted to try […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

