Seven Months

Here we are again. Another month has passed. We are getting closer and closer to the one year birthday and it just seems unreal to me. I have friends that are having babies now and I see how little their newborns are and I really don’t remember Jude being that small. But at the same time I feel like I was pregnant yesterday. Strange.

7 Months

Hmm. So what’s new? Still no teeth, no crawling and no sitting up. . . He can sit up for a bit but as soon as he sees something he wants he launches in that direction and falls over.  Eating solids is going well – he loves apples, sweet potatoes, carrots, bananas, rice cereal, oatmeal and yogurt but hates peas and doesn’t care for pears. It is a lot of fun getting to cook for him and a part of me fantasizes about the day when he will want to help cook. In reality, I’m pretty sure he will just help make a mess in the kitchen . . .

7 Months

It is becoming increasing clear that he is going to be a passionate, strong willed child. He has no problem raising his voice and letting everyone know what he wants. His mood swings in a matter of seconds and his giggles can turn into screams without notice. We are already engaging in discussion about how we are going to approach disciplining. We both believe that discipline only happens when there is willful, knowing disobedience, but we still have to figure out what happens when that occurs. And I KNOW it’s going to occur! He loves to rough house already – being flung around makes him giggle and he is super ticklish. He is quick to laugh and give people smiles which just warms my heart. He loves to flirt with the ladies too – watch out!

7 Months

There are still a lot of struggles that seem to come with all the transitions. I miss working in an office. I miss bits and pieces of my old life. A lot of sacrifice has come through this transition. But as a friend of mine from college used to say, ‘nothing easy is worth it and nothing worth it is easy,’ and that seems more true to me now that it ever did then. Parenting is complex and difficult. It’s hard on your body. Your marriage. Your faith. Your other relationships. There are moments when I want to give up. But for every difficulty, it seems there is a payout that is greater than anything I could imagine.

7 Months

I still can’t get over the fact that I am entrusted with the care of a generally helpless human being. I mean, what? Who qualified me to do this job? But when it comes down to it, it is a great honor to do it. What bigger job exists that one that shapes another person with such magnitude?

9 Comments

  1. Posted January 20, 2010 at 8:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t believe how big he’s gotten! I love the third picture: “Who, me?” I bet you’ll see that face a lot in the future!

  2. Posted January 20, 2010 at 11:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a beautiful, honest picture of motherhood. Thank you for sharing this.

  3. Posted January 20, 2010 at 5:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    he’s such a little sweetie!

  4. Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    He is such a cute little man! Good luck on disciplining…I will be watching for tips. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’m hoping to meet with a couple of families to gather some informed opinions on disciplining… I need some books too but want to get recommendations from parents… Heard about any good ones?

  5. Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    He is beautiful! Fat cheeks, just like my little man. As I was reading your post, I felt myself nodding the whole time! I’m still in shock that they actually let me take this little person home, no questions asked. He needs me so completely. Without me (and my hubby, of course), he couldn’t survive! That’s so amazing…and so hard, sometimes.

  6. Shelly
    Posted January 20, 2010 at 7:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Excellent observations. Our 10-month-old has started being more vocal and inserting her will into situations, and we’ve started discussing the appropriate ways to deal with her “tantrums” at this age. It’s so scary to think that I’m responsible for raising a kind, intelligent, respectful person, especially since I know the road to get there will be fraught with difficulties. (Ahem, can we say Terrible 2s, ages 13-17, and plenty of other times in between?)

    And I will say that the whole crawling and teeth thing is overrated. Our girlie got teeth at 4 months, and started crawling before 6. Now I spend a lot of time keeping track of her and her messes and finding teeth marks on things (including my arm, which brings us back to the discipline idea…). So, enjoy those gummy smiles and his relatively limited mobility while you can. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

