Poppy Seed Lemon Cake

This was probably the weirdest cake I’ve ever made. So many egg yolks. Only 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of cornstarch? Huh? So strange, but by now, you all know of my obsession with Deb from Smitten Kitchen. I mean. It’s getting a little ridiculous, don’t ya think? Well she swore up and down that this cake was amazing. And I trust her. I do. So I made it. And it was good but not what I wanted for dessert. It felt much more like a cake that you would have with a good cup of tea, or coffee. A snack or breakfast perhaps?

Random side-note, isn’t my bundt pan pretty? It always makes me happy when I get to use it. And that powdered sugar looks so nice sifted over the cake. It’s so satisfying to make something pretty with so little effort. My type of cake making. 🙂

Poppy Seed Lemon Cake

Look how dense the poppy seeds are! They actually have a flavor if you get enough of them. I mean, don’t plan on taking a drug test after eating this cake. I’m pretty sure you will test positive for opium (yes, poppyseeds and opium are related)! The crunch that they lend the cake is nice and would be missed if omitted. The lemon was subtle but a nice addition.

Poppy Seed Lemon Cake

I did like this cake, but I don’t know that I would rave about it. It was dense and a bit dry, which is why it worked better with tea/coffee than as a dessert. It could also be that I over baked it a bit, but I followed the instructions and waited for the cake to pull away from the sides of the pan. I didn’t have any problems with it sticking as I thoroughly coated the pan with baking spray. Worth trying out if you’re doing a tea time!

Recipe for Poppy Seed Lemon Cake

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 23, 2010 at 6:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks like the kind of cake I like on a Saturday or Sunday for breakfast with some freshly brewed coffee. Maybe a slice with a thin spreading of butter? I love banana loaf with butter – not very healthy but it works.

    I’m now subscried to Smitten Kitchen too after one of your previous posts – we’re spoiled for choice there’s so many yummy recipes to choose from.
    Jade

  2. Posted January 23, 2010 at 11:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    I agree – I think this cake would be really good with a cup of tea

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

