Tuna Noodle Casserole

Ah yes, the infamous tuna noodle casserole. Typically it includes a can of some kind of condensed soup so I tend to avoid it. I know. That just sounded really snooty. Sorry about that. I just like it when I know exactly what things are made out of. Well, Cooking Light ran a section on tuna in their last issue and I happen to really enjoy tuna. I never had actually had tuna noodle casserole, so I decided I would try this one. I mean, all the ingredients in the casserole were things that I enjoy eating, none of them involved condensed soup, so why not? Turns out it’s pretty delicious! I used albacore tuna from the can and referenced the sustainable seafood chart to make sure that it was a good tuna choice. Just make sure that it says specifically ‘white tuna caught by pole or line’. Now, I have nothing to compare this to, so I’m curious if any of you that have had ‘traditional’ tuna noodle casserole would try this and tell me how it compares. I enjoyed it, but does it stand up to what everyone knows?

Recipe for Tuna Noodle Casserole

Tuna Noodle Casserole

13 Comments

  1. aj
    Posted January 29, 2010 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’ll have to give this a try this weekend. I grew up on the traditional tuna casserole, so it still has a nostalgic, comfort food place in my heart. But like you I’m not a fan of cream of mushroom. This one sounds like a tastey, more ‘grown-up’ version. I’ll let you know how it compares to the original…..

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 29, 2010 at 11:21 am | Permalink | Reply

      Awesome! Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

      • aj
        Posted February 1, 2010 at 11:38 am | Permalink | Reply

        This was very tastey! There was one big flavor difference for me compared to the original, the lack of mushroom. So, next time I make it I’m going to add some diced creminis to the onion and carrot saute. I think that will give the flavor a nice earthy depth. With that small alteration, this will be my new tuna cassarole recipe – thanks for sharing!

        • Elizabeth
          Posted February 1, 2010 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

          Good call! If I make this again, I’ll add mushrooms. 🙂

  2. elliek
    Posted January 29, 2010 at 1:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think I’ve had tuna casserole before but I just have never thought to make it myself…this looks pretty good.

  3. Posted January 29, 2010 at 2:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love tuna casserole. I could eat tuna for days! I’m definitely gonna try this recipe out. Will let you know how it compares to the ones I’ve tasted in the past.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Can’t wait to hear how it compares!

  4. Posted January 29, 2010 at 2:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We made tuna noodle casserole this week, too! I found my recipe at the Food Wishes video blog. Mine had the condensed mushroom soup. I’m usually not a fan, but one it was all mixed up, I couldn’t tell it was there.

  5. renee
    Posted January 29, 2010 at 5:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i grew up eating tuna noodle casserole a lot but with condensed soups. i too am not a fan of them. i recently whipped up a turkey tortilla dish. i knew i needed something in it like a condensed soup which i didn’t want to use. i googled searched for substitutes for cream of chicken/mushroom…and found that i could just make a nice white sauce and add spices as i liked. it turned out sooooo great!! i will definitely substitute again!

    i’m off now to make that delicious chili you posted the other day! can’t wait..

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 29, 2010 at 6:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

      My friend actually posted a recipe for homemade ‘condensed soup’ that I’ve always wanted to try. I figured it was just a white sauce with chicken/mushrooms and spices but haven’t attempted to make it myself yet. I need to. Along with ketchup. Need to make homemade ketchup soon!

      Mmmm, that chili is delicious. I wish Jason liked beans as much as I do! I’d make that chili again in a heartbeat! Enjoy it!

  6. Posted January 30, 2010 at 10:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks – I’m going to try the recipe this week! I love casseroles – that homecooking comfort food. Weird thing is that in Missouri where Dennis is from, they don’t really do casseroles. Is it a Southern thing?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted January 30, 2010 at 1:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You know, I think you’re right! I didn’t grow up eating casseroles either – both my parents are from NYC… That’s probably why I’d never had tuna noodle casserole!

  7. jenny
    Posted January 31, 2010 at 7:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OMG… so glad you did a post on Tuna Cassarole, this is one of my childhood favorites and when I tried it last is wasn’t as good as I remember. So, I will be trying this receipe

One Trackback

  1. By Tuna Salad Panini « think liz. on February 12, 2010 at 10:22 am

    […] choice! I was seduced in by Cooking Light’s article on tuna – I mean, I even made the Tuna Noodle Casserole from that article too. I was intrigued by the thought of a tuna panini so I decided to try it, and […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

