breakfast apple granola crisp

One thing that is fun about Jason not working a 9-5 job any longer is that I have a whole other meal that I get to make throughout the week, breakfast! I get to expand beyond cereal, waffles and toast and explore other breakfast offerings! That’s where the scones came about, the strata, and now this crisp.

I love the granola topping on this. It almost feels like you’re eating apple pie, but the granola topping brings this recipe back to breakfast. I did learn that I absolutely hate peeling apples and I had a bag of tiny granny smiths . . . so word to the wise, look for giant apples so that you don’t have to peel as many apples. It is worth the peeling time to make this though.

breakfast apple granola crisp

I thought it would be weird to serve this cold with vanilla yogurt, mainly because I had apple pie on the brain, but it was perfect. I would make the recommendation NOT to use sweetened flaked coconut because the only downfall to this recipe is that I felt it was a little too sweet. I also didn’t use the almonds which probably would have helped cut down on the sweetness of the recipe.

breakfast apple granola crisp

Definitely a good breakfast candidate and perfect to make the night before a nice breakfast/brunch! It’s also great to make and eat off of for a week. . . I mean, not that I did that or anything. . . 😉

recipe for breakfast apple granola crisp

3 Comments

  1. Posted February 2, 2010 at 11:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks great, especially for a weekend breakfast. Although weekday would work if I can make it the night before.

    I’m not a big fan of peeling apples but I saw an apple peeler gadget on a blog recently which looked like it would save time if you were really into apple pies and apple granola crisp!
    Jade

  2. Posted February 2, 2010 at 12:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really liked this! And I don’t generally like coconut but I couldn’t even taste it!

  3. Posted February 26, 2010 at 2:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow!I would love to have this wonderful breakfast.This is so mouth watering and looking so delicious that I can’t stop myself by trying it.

One Trackback

  1. By Coconut-Chip Coffee Cake « elliek on February 26, 2010 at 8:06 am

    […] not a fan of this Coconut-Chip Coffee Cake. Now, I don’t really like coconut but Beth made something that had coconut in it and I loved it so I thought I would branch out…the coconut was really […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

