best cocoa brownies

This is what happened to these brownies:

best cocoa brownies

They didn’t last an hour.

best cocoa brownies

Oh smitten kitchen, stop taunting me with all of your amazing recipes! This is starting to get a little stalker-ish if you ask me. Deb, please don’t put a restraining order on me. I couldn’t help myself on this one. You posted it and I had all the ingredients and friends and family to feed. And it was obviously a success.

These are not fancy brownies. I will tell you that. Not like the grasshopper brownies, or the cappuccino brownies I’ve made before. But just because they aren’t fancy doesn’t mean they aren’t delicious.

best cocoa brownies

Such a simple recipe, so few ingredients (all of which are staples in my kitchen) and so many different directions you could go with it. Add some chocolate chips, andes mints, some espresso powder, pinch of cayenne, nuts. . . the opportunities are endless. I was in a bit of a hurry, so I melted the butter in the microwave until I got the consistency that the recipe called for – as Deb noted, it worked perfectly.

I do believe that these brownies would work well to ship since there is no cocoa butter from chocolate chips/bars in it. Delicious. This will certainly be a go to recipe for me whenever I need a quick dessert.

recipe for best cocoa brownies

5 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted February 3, 2010 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    I saw these on Smitten Kitchen and knew you wouldn’t be able to resist!

  2. Jennifer DeStefano
    Posted February 3, 2010 at 11:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    HEHE! I saw this one come up (I know subscribe to Deb’s blog) and I wondered how long it would be before you had made them. 🙂 They are definitely one that I’m going to try.

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted February 3, 2010 at 4:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m getting predictable, aren’t I? Hehehe.

  4. Books And Bakes
    Posted February 6, 2010 at 12:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love those photos…and the brownies look pretty delicious too!

    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

    • Elizabeth
      Posted February 6, 2010 at 12:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I think my favorite part about the photos is that you can see Jude’s legs in the background… And they haven’t moved much from the first picture to the second one… We were digging in!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

