Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Oh Texas. Weird weird weather. It was about 75-80 for a week and then it’s down into the 30s, then warmer again. It’s really bipolar! I mean, there’s no in between, just hot one day and very cold the next. . . So I never know what to make for dinner because if I plan for soup, sometimes it ends up being 80 that day. And who wants to eat soup when it’s 80s? Well, I made a good decision the other day. I planned for soup and it was cold. And it tasted good. Soup is perfect on these gray, cold days we’ve been having.

I sought this recipe out because I made beef broth the other day and wanted to use some of it and then freeze the rest. So I searched for soups that I thought Jason might like that had a beef broth base. I uncovered this recipe. I haven’t really made a soup like this before and I was wondering if the ingredients would come together and turn into something amazing. . . and to my surprise, they really did! Jason actually enjoyed this soup and he is not a soup guy. The addition of the tortellini was just great – it’s always nice to have little pockets of cheese in anything, right? It was true of soup as well. A worthy addition to the soup recipes I’ve tried before.

Recipe for Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

5 Comments

  1. Posted February 4, 2010 at 5:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks so good! I’ve been on a soup kick lately, because we’re in Michigan and it’s winter, so it’s predictably cold. Too cold. This is the perfect remedy! Thanks for sharing!

  2. elliek
    Posted February 4, 2010 at 9:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    looks cozy and flavorful!

  3. Posted February 5, 2010 at 6:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hmm this looks good -almost lunch time here and this is making me really hungry.

    I love soup and I agree about the cheese, I just posted yesterday about some Broccoli and cheddar soup I made. I didn’t have any stilton and the broccoli needs something else in soup I find.

  4. Posted February 8, 2010 at 2:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my word. I just made this. Even my won’t-touch-any-type-of-soup kiddo ate this. Thanks for sharing!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted February 8, 2010 at 2:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

      That’s awesome! So glad everyone like it!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

