Partnering with Hope International

Since I have envisioned myself running a little shop on etsy, I always wanted to figure out how to use it to benefit others. There are so many great organizations out there and so many places to make donations and I was always a bit stumped when I thought about where this money should go. As an entrepreneur myself, it is exciting to see your own little business grow. This lead me to microfinance. I realized that I wanted to help people with more than a one time donation – I wanted my small donation to empower them to support themselves!

I’m so excited to announce that I will be partnering with Hope International in my etsy shop! HOPE International is a Christian faith-based, 501(c)(3) non-profit organization focused on alleviating physical and spiritual poverty through microenterprise development. They provide loans for impoverished people in over a dozen countries to start their own businesses, offering a sustainable alternative to short-term forms of charity. Microloan recipients can take pride in knowing that their own hard work has made the difference between poverty and provision. HOPE believes that microfinance can be a powerful force in changing the world for the better and that loving people as Christ loved others means caring for both physical and spiritual needs.

I will be donating 20% of the proceeds from my shop each month from here on out. If you are interested in donating without making a purchase, you can click here. At the end of the year, I will let you guys know how much the shop has helped contribute to this great organization.

Additionally, part of this partnership is going to involve me sharing with you some of the stories of people that have been brought out of poverty and started a business to sustain themselves and their families. It’s exciting to see how your money actually does go to work and improve the lives of those less fortunate. Stay tuned for the first post later today about Mama Atiya and how micro finance empowered her to start her own business.

5 Comments

  1. renee
    Posted February 9, 2010 at 10:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    this is SO great!!

  2. Posted February 9, 2010 at 4:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How exciting! I can’t wait to see all of the people you help!

  3. Posted February 9, 2010 at 8:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think this is awesome and a wonderful idea! When I spent a semester in Honduras in college, we got to see a micro enterprise in action and it was amazing the difference that had been made in these women’s lives. I can’t wait to hear more stories!

  4. Jenny B.
    Posted February 10, 2010 at 12:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Momma, I have to say that there are some people in everyone’s life that gives them a sense of great humanity, and for years now I have respected you for your giving and overall selflessness! Thank you for being such a kind person and encouraging others to do the same! You inspire me, and I’m sure others to be better people! Thanks mom!

  5. Posted February 17, 2010 at 1:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your actions are pretty inspiring. I’ve made a mental note of donating around 2% of my earnings (once I actually start earning through my blog) each month, but you’ve gone way beyond that by giving away 20%! It’s amazing. What goes around comes around – one day you can be sure all this will benefit you too

One Trackback

  1. By HOPE: Esperance Mukasekuru « think liz. on June 9, 2010 at 7:44 am

    […] HOPE: Esperance Mukasekuru To read more about why I post these stories click here. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

