Celebrating my Boy.

I hear it over and over again. It’s so easy to find fabric/patterns for little girls, but very difficult to find cute, fun stuff to make for boys! Well, someone out there listened! I’ve been enjoying Celebrate the Boy month over at Made and Made by Rae and it finally got me to lay aside my excuses and sew something up for Jude.

Of course, it had to be something guitar related, right? Well I had this fun fabric laying around with no plans for it in the works, so I decided I would try my hand at making a little boy outfit. I didn’t follow a tutorial or pattern, I just took a pair of pants that Jude already had and folded them in half – roughly cutting out four pieces. I sewed them up, and voila!

Guitar Applique

Oh yeah, I did a quick applique too for a shirt. Sketched out the guitar in disappearing ink (which if you look closely, you can still see), ironed on some fusible webbing to the applique and then to the shirt, then sewed around the edges. Super cute, right?

Well, it turns out I didn’t make the pants opening big enough. They only made it up to about mid-thigh, and regardless of how hard I tugged (with Jude giggling the whole time), they wouldn’t go any higher. Oops. You live and you learn, right (cue Alanis music . . . )?

Guitar Applique

But the shirt is still super cute, as are those delicious leg and wrist rolls, right? I just want to eat him up! Although, I did buy an 18 month sized shirt, and . . . well, it already fits him a little snug. Who comes up with these sizes, anyways?

Guitar Applique

And just because we got a little carried away with the camera . . . some more photos. Guaranteed to make you smile and brighten your day.

Guitar Applique

You’re smiling now, aren’t you. 🙂

5 Comments

  1. Brenda Farris
    Posted February 15, 2010 at 8:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    oh so precious! Yes, I love-love-love those “round,” healthy babies! Wish I could hug on him right now! Have a wonderful day, sweet girl! Love, Brenda

  2. Posted February 15, 2010 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am smiling now!

  3. Posted February 15, 2010 at 1:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    super cute!
    i’m totally blown away at how accurate the sizes are for the third kid i’ve had. my first, he was wearing the carter’s labeled size “6” at 12m, so i really thought it was for 6-9 months. little did i know that it is for 3-6. ha. so fun to have a socially acceptable healthy looking baby. (kid #1 was healthy, too- just skinny, and still is!)

  4. Posted February 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am smiling right now! He’s such a cutie! I still love the shirt and pants – sorry the pants didn’t fit – I know how that goes!

  5. Katie Rice
    Posted February 15, 2010 at 5:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great job Beth! You are so creative.

One Trackback

  1. By Sock Monkey!!! « think liz. on March 18, 2010 at 10:03 am

    […] exercising my clothing making skills and make him some simple pants. The first time I tried, it didn’t quite work. . . they were too small. That may be due to the chunky thighs my little has. Well, I had some sock […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

