40 Clove Slow Cooker Chicken

My friend Rachel happened to post about this recipe on facebook awhile back, and I was intrigued. I mean, I love garlic. A lot. And recently, it’s been more and more difficult to make elaborate meals for dinner. I mean, I love doing that and all, but the baby’s bedtime is 7pm. By the time I’m done putting him to sleep, it’s 7:45. Who starts dinner at 7:45?

Enter the slower cooker. We have had fights before, but I’m trying to learn to forgive so I’ve been trying out a couple of recipes. Some have been ok (I think I just committed some kind of blasphemy), and some have been stellar. I pulled out the crock pot and peeled my 40ish cloves of garlic.

40 Clove Slow Cooker Chicken

That’s a lot of garlic, isn’t it? I broke down a whole chicken (because that is the cheapest way to go) and seared everything off seasoned with some salt and pepper. Tossed it in the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients and went about my day. It does take a little bit of time to get everything into the crock pot, but, it’s certainly worth it.

40 Clove Slow Cooker Chicken

When it was time for dinner, I just cooked up some sour cream mashed potatoes (our favorite kind around here) and served up the falling apart, tender, delicious chicken. The sauce, delicious over the potatoes. The garlic? Creamy, buttery, nutty and delicious. Eat the whole cloves, you won’t be sorry.

40 Clove Slow Cooker Chicken

I did make a few changes, but all pretty minor. No vermouth because neither one of us likes the flavor of that liquor. I used white wine and chicken broth, because I like both and was worried about the crock pot burning everything. A great crock pot recipe addition!

Garlic Clove Chicken
from “Taste of Home Slow Cooker Classics”

40 garlic cloves, peeled
4 ribs celery, sliced
1 broiler/fryer chicken (3-4 pounds), cut up and skin removed
1/2 t. salt
1/4 t. pepper
1 T. olive oil
1/4 cup white wine OR reduced-sodium chicken broth
3 T. lemon juice
2 T. dry vermouth
2 T. grated lemon peel
2 T. minced fresh parsley
2 t. dried basil
1 t. dried oregano
Dash crushed red pepper flakes

Place garlic and celery in 5-qt slow cooker. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. In a large nonstick skillet, brown chicken in oil in batches; transfer to slow cooker.

In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients. Pour over chicken. Cover and cook on low for 3-1/2 to 4 hours or until chicken juices run clear.

Yield: 6 servings.

11 Comments

  1. Posted February 18, 2010 at 9:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad this worked for you! I’ve had some rough times with my crock pot too 😦

  2. Posted February 18, 2010 at 11:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yum! I think I daily salivate over the recipes on your blog. I will definetely try this once we are in our house.

  3. Ashley
    Posted February 18, 2010 at 1:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hello! I stumbled upon your blog when looking for information about cloth diapers (I am also a new mom to a 5 1/2 month old boy), and I have been hooked ever since! This recipe looks delicious, and I plan on trying it this weekend. Have you posted the recipe for your sour cream mashed potatoes on here too because those sound great! Have a great day! – Ashley 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted February 18, 2010 at 1:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Glad you decided to stick around!

      The sour cream mashed potatoes are pretty easy… I used yellow or red skinned potatoes, cut them up into about 1″ cubes, cook until tender and then add sour cream, salt and pepper to taste! Maybe 1/2c sour cream for every 6 medium sized potatoes? It’s really up to you and how much you like sour cream!

  4. Posted February 18, 2010 at 2:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have a whole chicken sitting in my fridge, just waiting to be used….I was so excited as I was reading through this recipe!

    Aaaaand then I came to the cook time – only 3.5/4 hours. Bah! I really need to pick up a delayed start timer for my slow cooker.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted February 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I did six hours with a little extra liquid and it was fine! My crock pot has the four settings for length of time to cook and when it’s done, it goes to warm to just keep the food at a good temperature and not cook it much further… Maybe yours has the same feature?

      • Posted February 19, 2010 at 6:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Nah – the settings on mine are really simplistic: Off, Warm, Low, High.

        No built-in programming/timer involved, unfortunately! I plan to get one of those timers that you put between the slow cooker and the outlet, interrupting the electric current. I’m not sure what they’re called/where to find them, and I haven’t spent any time looking for one.

        It’ll move higher on my priority list fairly quickly so I can try this recipe, though!

  5. Posted February 18, 2010 at 8:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That looks fabulous!

    oxo Judy

  6. Posted February 19, 2010 at 7:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oooohh… I have to make this! I love, love, LOVE garlic! It looks tasty, affordable, and easy. My kinda meal! Thanks for sharing!

  7. deezahoney
    Posted March 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m finally trying this recipe out! I hope my version (sans lemon zest because I forgot to pick up lemons during my grocery run) is as delicious as your photos look.

    • deezahoney
      Posted March 1, 2010 at 2:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Oops – I meant sans lemon peel.

One Trackback

  1. By Garlic, garlic and more garlic! « Musings on March 5, 2010 at 8:16 am

    […] March 5, 2010 by deezahoney That is what my hands smell like.  I definitely shouldn’t have to worry about vampires for the next few days!  Why am I so pungent?  The reasons are twofold: one, I bought one of these.  Two – I read Beth’s blog. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

