Austin: Grand Opening of The WonderCraft

The Wondercraft is a new group of crafters that travel around Austin in their refurbished Airstream trailer, teaching classes and spreading the crafting love. Last night they had their grand opening at the Art Pad and Jason, Jude and I decided to go check it out!

A few shots of the set up in the parking lot that I took with my iPhone.

The WonderCraft Grand Opening

The WonderCraft Grand Opening

The WonderCraft Grand Opening

They had a screen printing station where you could screen print a tie. Jason picked an airstream trailer and I printed it on the tie we choose. It was my first time to screen print and it was quite fun! I would love to learn more about how to do it at home!

Airstream Trailer Tie

I bought one item (although I was tempted to buy other items, I forced myself to resist), and at $5 for these great earrings, I felt like I was getting quite a deal! Check out Gem Junkie’s Famous $5 Earrings on etsy!

$5 Earrings!

I happened to be one of the first 25 people to arrive at the Art Pad for the grand opening, so I got a door prize! And what a door prize it was. Everything was in a handmade, screenprinted tote with a tie as a handle! So cool!

The WonderCraft Door Prize Bag

It included many fantastic things; my favorites were an embroidery set from Sublime StitchingForest Friends, a Lil’ Lavender Sachet, Bourbon Bites from Blue Note Bakery, a reclaimed magnet made from security envelope lining from pomme frites, feather clip from Diamonds and Guns, vintage Japanese lucite earrings from SoCoDivka Designs (so excited about these!), earrings from deLisa designs jewelry (excited about these as well – I can’t wear the dangly earrings as frequently with a grabby baby), delicious smelling bow tie one on soap from Nepenthe’s bath time, and stationary paper from paper place.

Door Prize!

Also in my door prize was a free ticket to Shop Austin, on April 17th, put on by the Lone Star Ladies, that’s raising money for the Frontier scholarship. I’m looking forward to going to that show – it sounds like it’s going to be fun!

I also found out about Austin Creative Reuse, which is something I would like to investigate more once they are up and running. I can’t believe it’s taken so long for this to get started in Austin since there is such a vibrant crafting community here!

Good food from the Blue Star Cafeteria, great sweets from the Cupcake Bar (so much better than Hey Cupcake!), great drinks from Apothecary Wine Bar. All in all, a night well spent!

7 Comments

  1. Posted February 26, 2010 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so jealous! The crafting environment out here is not this cool! I’ve done a few craft shows and it has always been disappointing. How awesome to be part of such a vibrant and inspiring group of people. Sounds like a blast!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted February 26, 2010 at 12:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You would adore Austin! Pretty much everything we both enjoy thrives here. Best city in Texas!

  2. Posted February 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great recap! I am bummed I missed out on the fun. So glad you got a goody bag too. Love the earrings you got.

  3. Posted February 26, 2010 at 3:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks like it was so much fun! I’m glad Jason and Jude got to go with you!

  4. Shelly
    Posted February 27, 2010 at 7:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m jealous too – they should drive up to Tyler! I love those earrings, but it looks like her etsy shop only has supplies, not premade earrings. Maybe if I convo her, she’ll make me some…

    • Elizabeth
      Posted February 28, 2010 at 8:34 am | Permalink | Reply

      I think that’s how it works – just convo her about the earrings! I’m sure she’ll make them for you!

  5. Posted April 1, 2010 at 9:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Glad you got a Goodie Bag with a ticket to Shop Austin! Hope to meet you there,

    Anne Marie, Producer of Shop Austin

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

