Spaghetti Cacio e Pepe

Hello everyone! I’m back! Thanks for being patient with me while I took some time off from the blog world – you will get something good out of this wait, I promise! (*cough* free pattern Friday, anyone?)

On to this recipe – it’s really just Spaghetti with Cheese and Pepper but it sounds fancier in Italian, so that’s what I’m gonna go with. This is a super simple recipe and it further reinforces the fact that sometimes the simple recipes are the best. I spotted this recipe on Smitten Kitchen (where else?) not long ago when I was looking for quick, cheap, healthy, vegetarian recipes. Ok. Ok. Maybe not ‘healthy’ as much as tasty. I figured I didn’t have anything to lose with this recipe, I mean, it has spaghetti, pepper, pecorino romano cheese, butter, pepper and olive oil. All fairly common ingredients in our household. So simple, and yet so delicious! I couldn’t stop eating it and even had some for leftovers the next day (which were good, but not quite as good as it was the day of). The only thing I would note is that you are going to get the best taste from freshly ground black pepper – this is a case of so few ingredients that you want to use the best available to you. I think this is a perfect recipe to have around as a ‘stand-by, just in case’ recipe . . . you know, just in case you don’t feel like cooking a full meal but still don’t want to spend an exorbitant amount of money on take out! Simple, easy and tasty. You can’t beat that!

Recipe for Spaghetti Cacio e Pepe

Spaghetti with Cheese and Black Pepper

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted March 8, 2010 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m going to make this this week! I got some spaghetti from the clearance shelf at HEB and this would be so easy and yummy!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 8, 2010 at 12:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You’re going to like it! Just make sure you do step back when you drop the spaghetti into the olive oil! It splatters like crazy!

  2. Gilmore Girl
    Posted March 8, 2010 at 1:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi friend! I’ve made that same pasta before, and it was SO good, yet SO simple! As a side I made spinach w/ white beans. You can see my post here: http://thehappygilmores.wordpress.com/2009/10/23/cacio-e-pepe-and-spinach-with-white-beans/

    Hope you’re well!

One Trackback

  1. By Szechuan-Style Tofu with Peanuts « think liz. on March 31, 2010 at 8:01 am

    […] In my quest to try and reduce the amount of meat that we consume, I find myself cooking a lot of pasta. And then occasionally I’m reminded that tofu exists and can help reduce our pasta […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

