Simple Beef Enchiladas

Jason loves enchiladas. He gets pretty excited when I say I’m making them for dinner. I like them because you can make them ahead of time, serve a lot of people with them and they are easy to make vegetarian. The things I don’t like about them is that fact that it takes a long time to get everything assembled and makes a mess to roll each one up! AND I can never get them from the pan to the plate and make it look pretty. It usually ends up looking more like a pile of yummy goodness instead of enchiladas. Ah, well, such is life. Not everything can be served looking pretty.

I was on a pioneer woman kick for recipes a couple weeks ago and decided to try this enchilada recipe. The ‘simple’ part pulled me in. What can I say, it’s easy to get my attention with recipes titles. The one thing I did differently from the recipe is that I didn’t fry the corn tortillas before rolling them. I brought some chicken stock to a light simmer and dipped the tortillas in that before rolling. I just can’t bring myself to dip each tortilla in oil. Too much for me. I ended up having enough of the filling and sauce to make two pans of enchiladas, so I felt like the serving size was a little off, but that was ok with us. More for leftovers, which were indeed delicious.

Recipe for Simple Beef Enchiladas

Simple Beef Enchiladas

2 Comments

  1. Chrystal
    Posted March 10, 2010 at 9:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those look yummy! I’d like some 🙂

  2. elliek
    Posted March 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jeremy loves enchiladas too

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

