Book Club:: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

To prepare for the recently released movie, our book club decided to read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. This book falls in the category of a classic children’s book but also the genre of literary nonsense, which we discovered as we were discussing the book together. I really think the only reason I was able to get through this book is that I had seen the Disney version of the movie as a little kid – the book is so scattered and strange! Why, oh why, does Alice eat anything that is put in front of her that is labeled ‘eat me’? As we were discussing the book, we realized that a lot of the weird imagery and encounters that Alice was having was either stories that Lewis Carroll would tell the little girls from the Liddell family, or it was political commentary – both of which went right over most of our heads as we were reading it!

I think this book may be what an LSD trip would feel like – so strange, very odd, just weird! It was short, fast paced and a quick read. I will say, I am still excited to see the Tim Burton movie and I will probably still read the second book, Through the Looking Glass. Maybe it’s worth a read for you if you liked the Disney movie (which seems to be a combination of Alice’s Adventures and Through the Looking Glass – which were two separate books) and you’re planning on seeing the new movie. 6/10

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted March 15, 2010 at 11:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad it was a short book…but still looking forward to the movie!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted March 15, 2010 at 11:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am definitely looking forward to the movie!

  3. Posted March 15, 2010 at 12:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Aww, I’m sorry you didn’t like it. I guess I’ve always associated the nonsensicalities with good things! Not the least of which was last weekend when I was away with a lovely gang, where we held an impromptu poetry reading in an old library. Lewis Carroll’s poems and Alice came up a lot!

    Good on you for reading the book before seeing the movie!
    Rosie

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

