Spicy Shrimp and Grits

I love grits. I was raised on cream of wheat, which is similar, but in my opinion, inferior to grits. I hadn’t had grits until I got to college, and then I started eating them every morning for breakfast. Some butter, some cheese, some salt and pepper. Yum. Breakfast of champions. Ha.

Now, something else I didn’t grow up eating was shrimp and grits, which is apparently a much loved southern dish. This is probably because my mom, who did all the cooking in my family, is from New York. I don’t think shrimp and grits were part of her childhood either. Now I have a soft spot for this southern dish. I order it at restaurants, make it at home. . . and this recipe is a great version of this dish. It’s got a nice kick to it, which pleases Jason and the flavors are just spot on. The dish came together very quickly and we just loved it. I mean, it has bacon in it. Come on! Yuuum.

Recipe for Spicy Shrimp and Grits

Spicy Shrimp and Grits

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 16, 2010 at 3:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m very excited to try this recipe! Looks yummy! Thanks for posting!

  2. Posted May 5, 2010 at 11:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m also addicted to shrimp & grits…make it all the time…order it every time I see it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

