Sour Cream Coffee Cake

You may have noticed that a lot of the recipes I’ve been posting are from cooking light lately. There’s a reason for that. I’m trying to stop indulging my decadent side as much. I mean, I’m all for a stick of butter and a cup of cream, but in moderation and celebration. So I’m trying to teach myself moderation (the celebration part isn’t the problem). That leads me to recipes that taste like some of my favorite decadent treats, but with a little bit more moderation. Which leads me to a healthier version of coffee cake.

This coffee cake does not taste ‘light’. It tastes rich and delicious. The key is not not overmix the batter. When it says, ‘stir until dry ingredients are just incorporated’, don’t stir longer! You don’t want the glutens to develop and make your cake dense. I especially love the nutty taste from the toasted ground oatmeal and the whole grain oatmeal topping. Now, when I made this, I didn’t realize that I was almost out of sour cream. . . so I used 1/2 c sour cream and 1/2 c fat free french vanilla yogurt. I think that worked out fine. This one is definitely worthy of serving to guests.

Recipe for Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

One Comment

  1. Posted March 18, 2010 at 9:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    This was great and may have been on of my favorite coffee cake toppings!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

