Jerk-Rubbed Catfish with Spicy Cilantro Slaw

I’ve been trying (once more) to incorporate a little more sustainable seafood into our diet. US Farmed Catfish is rated as a ‘best choice’ by Monterrey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch, so I figured we should add a bit of catfish into our life. And it’s pretty affordable too! Cooking Light ran a recipe section last month on spicy dishes and I knew that this would make Jason happy since he loves everything spicy. Enter this dish. I still had jerk rub seasoning from the bulk section from making these Jerk Pork Cheeseburgers (wow, talk about a change in photography . . . that kinda looks gross, but it isn’t! It’s delicious, I promise!), so I figured I should bust it out for some catfish.

Now Jason and I aren’t ‘slaw people’. Usually I wince when ‘slaw’ talk starts getting thrown around, but I decided to ditch all apprehensions and give it a go. AND we loved it. It was delicious and spicy. It is worth noting that I didn’t use a habanero, or a Serrano as the recipe states. I used a jalapeno because the other two options were too spicy for me. And let me tell you, the raw jalapeno was spicy enough!

Recipe for Jerk-Rubbed Catfish with Spicy Cilantro Slaw

Jerk Rubbed Catfish with Spicy Slaw

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2010 at 11:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    yumm! I don’t normally like slaw either but my one exception has been fish tacos and I think this is a similar idea…

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 18, 2010 at 11:11 am | Permalink | Reply

      Ohhh this catfish and slaw would be awesome as fish tacos! Great idea!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

