sweet pod

I saw this carrier back in January, when Meg from Sew Liberated blogged about it. I thought it would be a great carrier to have if we wanted to go hiking. I mean, jogging strollers don’t really cut it for hiking. . . And the pocket sling that I love and adore? Not the best for hiking either, especially since Jude is 21 pounds. But a backpack style carrier? Now we’re talking.

So I bought the pattern on etsy for $14. It arrived via e-mail as a pdf and I quickly flipped through it, making note of the list of items you need to purchase for this carrier. There are all sorts of buckles and webbing, foam . . . invisible zippers, snaps. . . a fairly daunting list for a simple seamstress like me. I decided that I needed a challenge and I carefully ordered all of the buckles and webbing from Seattle Fabrics. Just a quick note if you make this carrier – we had a little bit of a mishap in the buckles that I received from Seattle Fabrics – they sent me the wrong buckles – definitely not the sturdiest ones, I sewed them in and they kept slipping! I called them and they were great. They verified that they had sent me the wrong ones and quickly sent me the correct ones for free – but just check what you receive against what you ordered. As Jessica notes in the pattern, you are carrying precious cargo!

I got all of the notions that I needed and set to work cutting everything out. This is the most careful I have ever been in cutting everything out and following the pattern. The carrier is by far the most complicated thing I have sewn but it’s also the most rewarding. I am dang proud of myself for sewing this:

sweet pod baby carrier

Of course I am still stuck on Anna Maria Horner’s Drawing Room fabric, sketchbook in blue, so I used it for the decorative panel in the middle. You can’t really see it from these pictures, but the interior is a vivid orange. Almost the color orange that a hunter would wear. We won’t be getting lost in the woods while I’m wearing this carrier. 🙂

sweet pod baby carrier

There is a sleeping hood that is hidden in a pocket with an invisible zipper, but I forgot to unzip it and take a picture with it out. That’s where my first experience with setting snaps came into play. Pretty exciting! Now that I know how easy snaps are to install, the sky is the limit on that one!

sweet pod baby carrier

Jude seems to enjoy riding around on my back (the front isn’t an option – he likes to grab my face, stick his hands in my mouth, poke my nose . . .) and the carrier is quite comfortable. I can’t say enough about how well the pattern was written. Very easy to follow, regardless of how complicated it was.We will be testing this carrier out extensively soon, since we are heading to New Mexico on Friday for a week long vacation! There is much hiking to be had.

(P.S.: Austin friends – if you’re interested in making one of these, I still have a lot of the closed cell foam. I’m not sure what else I would use it for so you are welcome to it!)

8 Comments

  1. Posted March 29, 2010 at 12:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this is so great! i have a similar carrier and it is so easy to use. i’m having a hard time keeping the sleeping hood in the pocket it comes in, and your fabric design is enviable! i hope it is stellar during your vacation!!!

  2. Posted March 29, 2010 at 12:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How cool is this? Do you think you’ll make these for your etsy shop? Make sure you post pics of ya’lls trial run while in NM.

    Also, love the fabric choice. I particularly LOVE the bright orange! Very springy!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 29, 2010 at 12:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Oh goodness, I don’t think I could make these to sell mainly because it’s not my pattern and it has so many different components to it. I try to keep the
      things I sell in the shop fairly simple and quick to make… If I can finish it during a nap time, I’ll put it in the shop! 🙂

  3. Posted March 29, 2010 at 12:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Liz-
    I LOVE your fabric choices. Seriously, I might have to try to copy you and make myself a new one.

    I can’t wait to see how things go on your trip.

    Thanks for all your kind words about the pattern!!

    xoxo

    • Elizabeth
      Posted March 29, 2010 at 12:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks so much for writing such a great and easy to follow pattern! I was really excited with how fantastic the carrier turned out.

  4. Posted March 29, 2010 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That looks great! Sounds complicated, but you did a great job!

  5. Ashley
    Posted March 29, 2010 at 3:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous! This really makes me wish I knew how to sew! – Ashley 🙂

  6. Posted April 22, 2010 at 10:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Liz-
    I’m working on the pattern for a SweetPod Saddle Bag– a bag that would attach to your carrier when you’re out and about OR work as a stand along diaper bag. Any interest in testing it for me? Check my blog for more details. (Sorry to ask in the comments, I couldn’t find an e-mail)
    Jessica

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

