things are a-growing

The seeds that I’ve sprouted are starting to become big plants and not just baby plants any more. It is so satisfying to see the plants grow from seed. Everything has sprouted now! Below are the cucumber, squash and brandywine heirloom tomatoes:

cucumber, squash and brandywine tomatoes

And the Bibb lettuce sprouts are going crazy still. I’m just hoping it doesn’t get too hot too fast for them otherwise they will bolt too soon!

bibb lettuce sprouts

I bought a couple of plants from the local nursery and planted them in the raised bed. Below are the yellow bell peppers and red bell peppers are already growing like crazy!

Yellow Bells and Red Bells

And I’ve already planted one of the zucchini sprouts into the garden and it’s growing fast! I can’t wait to have zucchini from my backyard. I’ve never had zucchini bread before . . . You know you’ll see that recipe if I have a plethora of zucchini.

Zucchini

And, as I’ve said before, I would have a whole garden of tomatoes if it was reasonable! These are patio tomatoes and yellow pear tomatoes:

yellow pear tomatoes and patio tomatoes

It’s amazing to see things growing already. I’m already making plans to install a second raised bed in the fall to be able to grow even more. This gardening thing is kinda addicting!

6 Comments

  1. sharon
    Posted April 12, 2010 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    great job beth!I’ve got a green thumb from my parents but haven’t put it to use since 1999. Wow. that’s a very long time. Call me. I’d like to take you to my fav raw food place to eat, catch up, and hear all about your trip.

  2. Misty
    Posted April 12, 2010 at 1:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your plants look wonderful! I’m getting there, myself, but I’m trying to whip a flower bed into shape first. I had grand intentions of doing this after we moved into our house last summer, but it was too hot!

    Anyway, I think you will love the zucchini bread! I made it several times last summer with zucchinis from our local farmers market, and we always finished it off in just a few days!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 12, 2010 at 5:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ooo, send me your recipe!

  3. Posted April 12, 2010 at 3:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks great! My seeds are all finally sprouting (except for my habaneros!). I’m hoping we sell that shed soon so Jeremy can put my garden there!

  4. Jenny B.
    Posted April 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You should do a little tutorial on growing the plants from seeds. I’m curious on the steps you took to get these little guys in the ground. :). THEY LOOK REALLY YUMMY 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 15, 2010 at 3:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

      That’s a good idea. I’ll probably do that for the fall garden!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

