Vanilla Bean Scones

I don’t frequent Starbucks very often. Mainly because it’s expensive and I can make coffee at home. Better coffee. But, it is a very good place to meet people for hanging out and chatting. That being said, I succumbed to their petite vanilla scones awhile back, mainly because: I was hungry, I like scones, they were $.99. I saw this recipe and I knew I had to make them. I had a bottle of vanilla paste in the pantry, so I decided to give it a whirl.

So. Much. Better. Than. Starbucks.

My batch made more than the Pioneer Woman’s batch, but that was ok with me. I gave some away (it was difficult). Enjoyed them for dessert and with coffee the next morning. If you are unfamiliar with using a pastry blender, I wrote a tutorial on using one awhile back. I was afraid that they would be too sweet, but they surprised me, even with all that sugary glaze. Not too sweet at all. I did dip the whole scone in the glaze because, as Pioneer Woman noted, the glaze keeps the scones from going stale too quickly and I had a hope that these would stick around for at least a couple days.

They didn’t.

Recipe for Vanilla Bean Scones

vanilla bean scones

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

