Open-Faced Sandwiches with Ricotta, Arugula, and Fried Egg

Here’s a little secret. Sandwiches are hard for me to be inventive with. I get stuck in the meat, cheese, mustard bubble and then have a hard time branching out, which is why is usually find myself thinking that I don’t like sandwiches. Thankfully, I find recipes that remind me that there are many different ways to look at a sandwich. Like this one.

Putting a fried egg on anything makes it better, right? This recipe came together very quickly and was very satisfying for so few ingredients. It was rich, but fresh, and also vegetarian! Great for a light, quick dinner!

Open-Faced Sandwiches with Ricotta, Arugula, and Fried Egg

Open-Faced Sandwiches with Ricotta, Arugula and Fried Egg

8 Comments

  1. Sheri
    Posted April 26, 2010 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh this looks yummy! I have been making a lot of egg-type meals lately. I must try this! Any other egg dishes that you might have would be appreciated.

  2. Posted April 26, 2010 at 11:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks so good!

  3. Posted April 26, 2010 at 12:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this looks wonderful? did you make more homemade ricotta?

    we recently got chickens. we have 2 and my husband would love more because they don’t give us enough eggs!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 26, 2010 at 3:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I didn’t this time because I have some ricotta from the store in my fridge that I was using up. It would be amazing with homemade ricotta.

      What has your experience been like with the chickens? Jason is pretty against getting chickens because he thinks they’re going to be noisy and messy . . .

      • Posted April 27, 2010 at 7:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

        we have had 2 chickens for about 2 months. i was against getting them but my wonderful husband finally wore me down. as far as noisy they really aren’t. they make their little noises and occasionally you hear them laying an egg which is more of a ‘cluck’.

        as far as the mess. we just keep them cleaned out often. i think on my blog there is a picture of our chicken coop. my husband did a lot of research on this great site – http://www.backyardchickens.com/.

  4. marcella hogg
    Posted April 26, 2010 at 1:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    okay, i’m honestly just curious, not being a vegetarian, but are eggs part of their diet? just curious, really! lol…

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 26, 2010 at 3:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I guess it depends on what kinda of vegetarian you are. There are ovo-vegetarians who eat eggs and cheese, but some vegetarians choose not to eat eggs (although chicken eggs that we buy are typically not fertilized, so they wouldn’t become chickens). Vegan will cut out all animal products including eggs and dairy. So . . . it depends!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

