Books I’ve read lately

It’s been awhile since I’ve had the time to write up about some of the books I’ve been reading, so I thought I would do some concise summaries just to get them out of my head and recorded on this blog. You know that’s why I blog right? To get things out of my head so I can sleep at night. And of course for you lovely readers.

What have I been reading lately?

The Secret History by Donna Tart – I got this book for Christmas and have been reading it between book clubs for a couple of months. It is a long read, that’s for sure. I’m not sure that this is a book I would recommend as I had a hard time finding empathy for the main characters of the book – there were so many of them! It was hard to keep them straight and I felt a little put off by all of them, which led me to not really care what happened to them. Interesting, but not interesting enough to keep. This one is getting put on paperbackswap to free up room on my bookshelf. 4/10

Reading Lolita in Tehran – by Azar Nafisi (Book Club: March) – I am naive when it comes to so many issues in the world. I had so little knowledge of the Iran/Iraq conflict in the 80s that it was embarrassing. This book walked me through the events through the eyes of an intelligent Iranian female professor. Such oppression. Such bravery. Such a different culture that I know so little about. I thoroughly enjoyed having my eyes opening to the way of life that these women were subjected to, and their struggle for love, knowledge, recognition and appreciation. While I ate up the story, I felt that the book itself was a little disjointed. There were four main sections, broken up by the American book or author and at times it was difficult to understand what part of the author’s life it was describing. Overall though, I felt that the flaws were minute in comparison to the knowledge I gained. Books like these are reasons why I love being in book club. I would have not picked it up otherwise! 8/10

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years – by Donald Miller – I am a Donald Miller fan. I appreciate his blunt style of writing and his willingness to say things about spirituality that others don’t even want to let themselves think. He is the guy that goes there and says it how he sees it. Stream of consciousness writing resonates with me (haven’t you noticed?) and Miller does it beautifully. ‘A Million Miles’ is Don telling his story to teach how to live a better story. It is inspiring and convicting, thought provoking and beautifully descriptive. I always seem to go back to the intro when people ask what the book is about. It doesn’t tell the whole story, as it shouldn’t, but makes you want to read more: “If you watched a movie about a guy who wanted a Volvo and worked for years to get it, you wouldn’t cry at the end when he drove off the lot, testing the windshield wipers. You wouldn’t tell you friends you saw a beautiful movie or go home and put a record on to think about the story you’d seen. The truth is, you wouldn’t remember that movie a week later, except you’d feel robbed and want your money back. Nobody cried at the end of a movie about a guy who wants a Volvo. But we spend years actually living those stories, and expect our lives to feeling meaningful. The truth is, if what we choose to do with our lives won’t make a story meaningful, it won’t make a life meaningful.” 10/10

The Girls from Ames – by Jeffrey Zaslow – (Book Club: April) – Funny thing. When the book club girls picked this book, we thought it was a fiction book. Turns out it’s non-fiction. Oops. I had been under the impression this book was going to be a bit of ‘chick lit’ which is something I don’t typically read, so I was glad that the book club was taking me out of my literary comfort zone once more. Turns out the book was an examination of a particular group of women’s friendships over the years. It was written by a man, and somewhat obviously so because he noticed things about the relationships that most women would look past. Interesting book, full of facts about close female friendships, but not quite what I was anticipating when I picked it up. 7/10

What books have you been reading lately? Any you would recommend?

2 Comments

  1. deezahoney
    Posted April 28, 2010 at 1:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow – wide variety!

    I just finished Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas; great book – I highly recommend it.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 28, 2010 at 1:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I keep picking up Sacred Marriage to read and never get very far in it! I keep hearing such good things about it. I need to make it a priority!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

