Grilled Balsamic Skirt Steak with Sauteed Baby Spinach and Tomato-Vidalia-Blue Cheese Salad

Let me start this post out by saying how I am so ready for my tomato plants to start producing! I strongly dislike buying fresh tomatoes at the grocery store. They never really taste as good as I’d like. Thankfully I found some organic ones on sale for this recipe and they were decently tasty. Not as good as what you get from your backyard, but good enough.

I’m telling you, the most recent Cooking Light issue really did well. This was another quick and easy meal that felt healthy and affordable. I used flank steak, only because I couldn’t find any skirt steak and that was fine. A grid iron steak, fajita steak, flank steak, skirt steak, all of those would work well in this application. The meat was good, but the real star was the tomato-vidalia-blue cheese salad. Who knew something so simple could be so incredible! Since the recipe isn’t include on the link, here’s how to make it:

Mix 1 tbsp olive oil, 1.25 tsp white wine vinegar, salt and pepper to taste. Toss with 2.5 c halved grape tomatoes, 1.3 c diced sweet onion (Vidalia if you can find it), 3 tbsp blue cheese (I used more). That’s it!

Grilled Balsamic Skirt Steak with Sauteed Baby Spinach and Tomato-Vidalia-Blue Cheese Salad

Grilled Balsamic Skirt Steak with Sauteed Baby Spinach and Tomato-Vidalia-Blue Cheese Salad

3 Comments

  1. Posted April 27, 2010 at 4:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    packed with iron supplemented with vit c, this .look. delish.

  2. Posted April 27, 2010 at 8:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You and I must be identical twins separated at birth. I just tried this exact recipe last night for dinner! I did switch out the blue cheese for feta though, since I’m not a fan of it. It was seriously so good though. I thought the spinach was a little bland though. Would you have any suggestions on how to dress it up?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 27, 2010 at 10:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Well I think I may have tripled the garlic in the spinach! You could add some nutmeg… Sounds weird but it’s yummy… Or some crushed red pepper for heat!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

