Fresh Mint Ice Cream

Ice cream season has officially begun. I love getting my ice cream maker out of the cabinet and trying new recipes and getting reacquainted with old ones. Cooking Light ran a spend on several tasty sounding ice creams that I thought I would give a try. First up was this fresh mint ice cream. Sounds intriguing, right? I pulled the mint from my hanging herb garden and set to work following the recipe to a tee. I wish I would have remembered Cooking Light’s propensity for making sweets very sweet. Too much sugar! I think it could have been halved so that the delicate flavor of the fresh mint would come through.This is definitely not your traditional mint ice cream so if you like a strong minty flavor, I would skip the fresh mint and just add mint extract. And maybe some chocolate chips… 🙂

Recipe for Fresh Mint Ice Cream

Fresh Mint Ice Cream

4 Comments

  1. Stephanie
    Posted May 3, 2010 at 11:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    I need to send you the recipe for the Meyer Lemon ice cream I made a few weeks ago. It was out of a California wine country cookbook I have and it was phenomenal! Also, I got an ice cream maker! I had asked my boss if she had one I could borrow and she ended up buying one for me as a perk. =)

    • Elizabeth
      Posted May 3, 2010 at 11:37 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yes please!

  2. Posted May 3, 2010 at 7:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ooooooo, stephanie, we have a meyer lemon tree we recently got! i would love the recipe too. please?

  3. Posted May 3, 2010 at 7:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i’m freezing already…but i think i’d eat that anyway!

One Trackback

  1. By Salted Caramel Ice Cream « think liz. on May 28, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    […] Caramel Ice Cream The first ice cream I tried from Cooking Light’s ice cream recipes was just ok – too sweet. You would think […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

