Banana Ice Cream

I am ashamed that it has taken me so long to try this. ASHAMED. Seriously. This may be the only one ingredient recipe I ever post on this site, and it’s worth trying. I mean, it only requires one ingredient and it’s a cheap ingredient. You could even buy it organic and it would still be cheap.

Here are the instructions. Take a couple bananas. Leave them on your counter until they get to the ‘almost too ripe stage’. You’ll smell them when they’re ready. Put them in the freezer. Wait until they are frozen through – this may take about a day. Remove bananas from the freezer. Place in warm water and remove peel in layers. This may take a couple dunkings. Place frozen bananas in food processor. Put lid on food processor. Turn on food processor. Wait and be amazed. At first it will sound like you’re trying to blend an iPhone. Just wait. Eventually it turns to the consistency of frozen soft serve yogurt.

It’s unbelievable! Creamy, rich and healthy! That is, until you drizzle nutella all over it. Or chocolate syrup.

Banana Ice Cream

8 Comments

  1. Jennifer
    Posted May 13, 2010 at 12:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Whenever my bananas start to get too ripe, I peel them and put them in a freezer bag and freeze them unpeeled. They are great for ice cream, or making smoothies – just pull them out when you are ready for them. Also, if you have kids that don’t quite finish their “own” banana, cut off the top and plunk it into the freezer bag. Good way to keep the waste down.

  2. Michelle
    Posted May 13, 2010 at 4:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Freeze them in chunks without the peels, it makes this snack even easier!! If you want to make it a two ingredient treat, melt some chocolate and drizzle it on top (or just use chocolate syrup) YUM!

  3. Michelle
    Posted May 13, 2010 at 4:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Haha, I got too excited about this post and just realized that you did in fact mention chocolate syrup and the previous poster mentioned peeling the bananas first. Oy. Next time I will read first, then comment!!

  4. Posted May 13, 2010 at 10:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is amazing! I have some browning bananas on the counter right now. I’ll have to put them in the freezer. And thanks for the reminder on the chocolate syrup recipe. I’ve been making lattes recently at home again, and I wanted to make a mocha but didn’t have any syrup! Now I don’t have to go to the store!

  5. Sheri
    Posted May 14, 2010 at 8:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have to admit, I always get a little jealous when I see all of these ice cream recipes you post! I don’t have an ice cream maker, and it makes me very sad. :)When I saw this one, I almost skipped right over it, and then you made my day.

    I can make this ice cream all by myself without an ice cream maker. And thankfully, I have bananas that are sitting on my counter right now.

    Thanks for the recipe!!

  6. Posted May 14, 2010 at 9:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    We used to have a Champion Juicer that we’d run frozen fruit especially bananas through for a ‘soft serve’ dessert. Loved it and easy!

  7. Posted June 1, 2010 at 9:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    So I literally laughed out loud when I saw you post this b/c I had read about it months ago and had been meaning to try it too, but you beat me to it. I guess that is what happens when friends read the same cooking magazines and read the same blogs!

    Anywho, I tried it out and I thought it had a weird aftertaste and I didn’t think it was sweet enough so I added sugar. I didn’t really like how that tasted either so I added a handful of ice and some milk and ultimately had a smoothie, which I liked tons better.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 1, 2010 at 10:04 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, it really isn’t very sweet, but a drizzle of chocolate syrup makes it perfect for us. I think that I love this so much because I can feed it to Jude and it’s so healthy. He already loves ice cream and this is such a great alternative to that for our hot Austin days…

One Trackback

  1. By Banana Ice Cream « Musings on June 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    […] Beth, who apparently reads the same cooking magazines as I do, froze them with the skins on.  I’m lazy, so I did it beforehand.  That whole dunking them in hot water was apparently just too much for me.  Also, I don’t have a food processor.  I used a Magic Bullet, which worked, but was a bit finicky.  If you have to do smaller portions like me, don’t take out all the banana pieces from the freezer at once.  You’d probably end up with a more smoothie-like texture, instead of a solid ice cream one. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

