summer sewing

I finally sewed something for myself. And I used a legit pattern. Ellie was kind enough to loan me the McCalls flat front shorts, pattern M5391. I don’t have many shorts in my wardrobe, mainly because I used to work in an office all summer long. When I made clothing purchases, I often asked myself ‘could I wear this to work?’. . . which lead to me having absolutely no shorts. Now that I’m home all the time running after Jude and we are quickly approaching Austin’s sweltering summer days, I must have shorts. So I decided to make some.

I made them out of a green seersucker fabric. Nice and lightweight and fairly easy to sew. I kinda want to make several more in the different lengths offered in the pattern. I decided to use a button instead of the hook and eye closure that they recommended because I liked the look that the wooden button added. I struggled a bit with the zipper because the instructions seem to assume that you’ve done a fly style zipper and zooms right through the illustrations and the instructions. I’m still not completely sure that I installed the zipper correctly. They turned out cute regardless though:

Seersucker Shorts Seersucker Shorts

I am especially happy with the trouser style pockets. I LOVE pockets.

Seersucker Shorts

I couldn’t stop at just making myself a pair of green seer sucker shorts, I had to make a pair for Jude. I decided I would make a pair of drawstring style, flat front pocket shorts. I loosely followed this tutorial for the shorts and used this pattern for the flat front pockets. They turned out exactly as I had envisioned! I am wondering if drawstring is the best type of closure… I might be adding some elastic and just using the drawstring as decoration…

Seersucker Flat Front Pocket Shorts

After completing the shorts, I couldn’t stop, I was on a roll. I made a summery sun hat using this tutorial. Sadly it was WAY to small for my little man. But still cute!

Floppy Summer Hat

Still unable to stop myself, I had to make a hat that fit Jude. Lucky for me, this bucket hat tutorial was posted right after my mishap with the too small hat.

Seersucker Bucket Hat

Sadly, it’s a little difficult to keep hats on Jude’s head. I added ties to try and keep it on, but he just pulls harder. I’m also worried that it’s a little too girly. What do you guys think? Too girly?

Seersucker Bucket Hat

And I couldn’t resist. Here we are all matchy matchy. I know. I’m a dork.

Matchy matchy

And completely unrelated to all the previous seersucker items, I sewed up a cute blue felt Zou Elefante as a gift for a friend’s son’s first birthday.

Stuffed Elephant

Whew. Lots of sewing! And there’s still more to come!

11 Comments

  1. Posted May 24, 2010 at 9:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love it! Love it love it looove it! Great job on everything.

  2. elliek
    Posted May 24, 2010 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    so fun! I’m glad the shorts turned out so well! And I don’t think Jude’s hat is too girly!

  3. Pearl
    Posted May 24, 2010 at 1:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    how about when jude is old enough to have clothing preferences, you let him decide if something’s too girly? i just can’t see it mattering at his age.

  4. Posted May 24, 2010 at 8:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    so very awesome!

  5. Aubrey
    Posted May 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Okay…seriously had to email my sister and say “did you read Beth’s blog today?!”. You are too cute!! I love everything and am totally jealous of your crafting skills/time! I love the picture of you and Jude- the self portraits rock 🙂

  6. Posted May 24, 2010 at 11:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    amazing beth!! i LOVE all the matching and the shorts are just fantastic!! and i love the elephant. i so want to make that. i am really going to download the shorts pattern! ok, i am gushing but i am just in awe. love the shorts. so sad my machine is packed away….

  7. Posted May 25, 2010 at 2:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome shorts! And that bucket hat and pants so went on my to-sew-list for Jaxon!

  8. Sarah
    Posted May 26, 2010 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    last time i saw you, you were wearing these and I thought they were so cute (i love seersucker). I didn’t realize you made them!

  9. Posted May 29, 2010 at 4:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    adorable ideas!!! I love to be… “all matchy matchy” I do the same with my girl!!!!

  10. Kathy
    Posted June 6, 2010 at 11:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey dear did you hand sew the elephant, love it. It is a great gift.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 7, 2010 at 7:19 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yep, the elephant is hand sewn!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

