oven chicken risotto

Thank you to all of you who offered up your recipes in exchange for a chance to win the bibs and burp rags. There are some true gems in there! The first one I tried was this oven chicken risotto. It was offered up by my high school friend, Anne, who has been making this recipe for all her friends that have recently been having babies. I truly appreciate how little prep was involved in this recipe, not to mention the fairly short list of ingredients and none of the time spent over the stove stirring risotto the way it is traditionally made. It is summery and fresh, which is sometimes hard to do with risotto. I usually think of it as a winter dish, warm, creamy and comforting. The addition of the grape tomatoes, fresh basil and fresh mozzarella lighten it up significantly. I went ahead and roasted my own chicken as a separate meal so that I could make stock with the bones and use the leftover meat for this meal. A great way to stretch a dollar. The results were fantastic.

Creamy Chicken Risotto

If you have any experience with risotto, you know that it doesn’t reheat well the next day. But that shouldn’t stop you from utilizing the leftovers the next day! I took the leftover risotto and formed it into disks, breaded it in some breadcrumbs and sauteed it off in a little bit of olive oil. I think I may have liked it better the second day (although it was delicious the first day as well)! The crunchy outside and the creamy inside. . . yuuum.

Creamy Chicken Risotto Cakes

Even if you have never made risotto before, this recipe is fail safe. Give it a shot! It doesn’t get much easier than this!

Recipe for Oven Chicken Risotto

2 Comments

  1. Posted June 2, 2010 at 9:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those picture looks so yummy. The recipe really look simple. I love to try it.

  2. anne
    Posted June 10, 2010 at 12:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love that you made it and loved it!! I will definitely try it next time using my own chicken & stock – great idea 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

