Garden Update: June

Things are going crazy in my little 4×4 garden. Check this out (and pretend like my grass is mowed):

Garden - Out of Control!

Those tomatoes on the right are taller than I am. The zucchini is starting to take over. In fact, this garden seems to be putting forth many things that are larger than average. Look at this:

Supersized. . .

That’s a quarter on the left. The zucchini on the left is normal sized. The one on the right is ginormous and seemed to get that way overnight. I think that I owe this success to something specific. Magic perhaps. Mater Magic. I used it at the roots of everything I planted and it seems to be supersizing everything in the garden. LOVE it.

Plant Magic

Because everything got so super sized on me, I had to remove the banana and jalapeno peppers and plant them in pots. They seem to be loving not being shaded and crowded out by the bigger bully plants. Peppers are awesome potted plants, in case you didn’t know. They don’t need much room to grow.

Peppers in Pots

Here are the rest of my potted beauties. Still going strong. The blackberry bush is fully leafed out and it already had a bloom! I need to find something for it to climb on. My olive tree is still doing well, and my basil seems to be chugging along.

Potted Plants

My hanging herb garden. . . I’ve gotta say that the grommets aren’t holding up super well. If you are thinking about doing this project there are a couple things you should know. If I was going to do this again, I would have folded the top over and sewed it down so that you could run a rod right through the pocket instead of allowing grommets to hold the full weight of the planter. I also would consider using a gel product, (like this) to mix in with the soil. These pockets dry out so quickly that you have to water them every day. I don’t know how the herbs are going to hold up to the Austin summer heat. I’m hoping to build another planter and get them in the ground. We will see.

The hanging herbs. . .

In my little 4×4 plot we are starting to see the bell peppers fruit. So exciting! Organic bell peppers are so expensive in the stores.

Red Bell Peppers

And my yellow pear tomato plant is plotting to take over the world. It is huge, and putting out so much fruit it is insane. It has completely taken over my patio tomato plant. But hey, we will have a bunch of ripe tomatoes here soon!

Yellow Pear Tomatoes

8 Comments

  1. Brea
    Posted June 7, 2010 at 12:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Do the supersized produce taste as good? I know sometimes bigger is not better in taste so I’m curious.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 7, 2010 at 4:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I actually haven’t eaten it yet! Planning on grilling it up tonight. I’ll let you guys know…

  2. Posted June 7, 2010 at 3:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i’m curious about the answer to brea’s question, as well. i’ve usually avoided the supersized produce when purchasing. i know our lettuces went supercrazy growing & we didn’t prune them, leaving us with tougher leaves. not sure that all veggies are like that, though.

    on the peppers, my husband heard somewhere that peppers love to be out in the heat & there is correlation between the pepper heat & how much they are in the hot sun. it seems to be a factor in our thai hots that we grew last year. this year we’ve got some habaneros, too, that i assume may prove that theory. not sure how the bells do on the heat range as ours got some sort of blight last year.

  3. Posted June 8, 2010 at 10:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks like we’re going to have to do a tomato swap!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 8, 2010 at 10:42 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yes please!

  4. rachaelbecker
    Posted June 8, 2010 at 11:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Good question Brea…I’d be curious to know the answer as well. Where did you get that miracle mater stuff? Home Depot?

    We’re growing Zucchini too, but no fruit yet-it’s still flowers. Hopefully we’ll be having some soon!

    Any tips on keeping the bugs off the tomatoes? I have one tomato plant that is getting shredded by something, I’m not sure what.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted June 8, 2010 at 5:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ahh, the monster zucchini is still in my fridge. Soon I will grill it up. Cooking has been a little last minute around here lately so I haven’t gotten to it yet.

      I got the Miracle Mater from Green ‘N Growing, but they sell it at Lowe’s too. Not sure about Home Depot.

      Diatomaceous Earth is a great pest control that is organic. No worries about ingesting it – it won’t hurt you but it will deter pretty much any bug.

      Lately we have had squirrel taking big bites out of the bottoms of tomatoes that were almost ripe, so I figured out a solution for that. . . You take a plastic sandwich bag and zip it up around the sides. No more squirrel snacks. 🙂

      • Rachael B
        Posted June 8, 2010 at 9:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Ah, thanks for the tip! I’ve heard of that stuff before; I’ll have to give it a try.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

