Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

Get ready for the zucchini recipes. My garden is in fully swing producing them so I’ll be cooking a lot of them! First up, zucchini bread. I had actually never made zucchini bread before – mainly because I didn’t really grow up eating zucchini. In fact, I don’t think it was until college that I made my first sauteed zucchini and loved them ever since. So back to zucchini bread. I figured because I had never made it, zucchini bread should be one of the first up in my zucchini adventures. I found this Paula Dean recipe and I was sold. It seemed to be kinda like a spice bread with chocolate chips.

I did make a few changes to the recipes. I didn’t use orange zest, substituted toasted crushed almonds for pecans, used bittersweet chocolate chips and cut down on the sugar just a bit. When I pulled the two loaves of zucchini bread out of the oven, I was worried that it had over baked, they were so firm on the top. But thankfully they were perfect. The zucchini kept everything moist and delicious. Not a dry spot in the bread. And really, the zucchini flavor wasn’t pronounced at all but the bread was absolutely delicious! Looking forward to seeing what else I can make with the zucchini from the garden. Any suggestions?

Recipe for Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

4 Comments

  1. Posted June 10, 2010 at 10:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    The recipe seems nutritious. I love it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Posted June 10, 2010 at 11:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow that looks great! I might need to make that!

  3. Posted June 10, 2010 at 11:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    i love making the greek style zuchinni salad i posted on my blog. its so flavorful and healthy! sometimes i add kalamata olives and/or chickpeas.
    http://smithfamilyliving.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/the-best-salad-ever/

    renee

  4. anne
    Posted June 10, 2010 at 12:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve never made zucchini bread before but this looks amazing 🙂 Totally trying it out!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

